Creme Anglaise Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This is an excellent sauce. If you add the zest and extra brandy make sure to let the sauce rest overnight to develop the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Delicious! I made it while the souffles were baking and I guess - based on belatedly reading the comments below - it'd make more sense to make it the day before and let the flavor develop further overnight. In any case, it was absolutely delicious. Oh, and I didn't have heavy cream, so used half & half - still came out perfectly, if a little more liquid-y. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Zamorska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poznan, Greater Poland, Poland
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I added the orange zest and used this sauce over Egg Nog Bread Pudding for a Christmas Brunch. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Living In: Wheat Ridge, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I did not add the orange liqueur or zest. Used vanilla sugar and vanilla extract. The method was so easy and the recipe is right on. Stirred for 10 minutes, strained, cooled and it was TO DIE FOR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I am going to make schaum tortes for my sons' birthday. This sauce will be great drizzled over the berries and ice cream ( and gives me a use for the egg yolks)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
best thing I ever put in my mouth, bar none. It really made the souffle more sweet and dessert like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
This isn't a review, it's a question. Can you use fat-free half and half to make this sauce?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I thought I should really write a review for this recipe (my first one!) since I make it at least a couple of times a week. With apple crisp, peach cobbler, bread pudding, stewed rhubarb or just a spoon - it's delicious. Sometimes I add less sugar if it's going on something sweet. We have chickens so in the summer when we're being buried under a landslide of eggs, I will double the number of yolks - still perfect. Thank you so much for giving the temperature, no more deciding if it is thick enough coating on the back of a spoon or straining my custard because of lumps. Sometimes I add the brandy and zest and sometimes not - always delicious. Thank you, thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
One of my favorite ways to use this = drizzle over carrot cake. YUM. This is so versatile though, and works for just about anything. Except ribs. Gross.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monicakat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
love it just like i remember from my favorite breakfast place in canada.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Drummondville, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States