Creme Anglaise II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
We served this with the Autumn Cheesecake and it was so rich, it was heavenly! A definite keeper in our recipe files!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
It has a great flavor, mine got a tad bit too thick for my tastes, but maybe I cooked it too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
This recipe is a bit sweet. If you have a rich dessert I would suggest that you lower the sugar amount to 1/3 cup. Other than that suggestion, this Anglaise is good enough to eat all by itself. It thickened up nicely and is velvety smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2003
I served this over Blueberry Boy Bait. Boy! What a treat! Thanks! :-))))))) A+++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
This anglaise was wonderful over mixed berries. As another reviewer put to aptly, it thickened up beautifully and velvety smooth. This is the perfect touch to a decadent dessert or a very simple one. We prefer ours a little less sweet, so I will reduce sugar to 1/4 to 1/3 cup next time.Thanks Meshel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
Very good over fresh strawberries. I didn't have the vanilla bean, so I added a splash of vanilla extract to the egg yolks. Really good flavor and my butter was salted, but didn't seem to make a difference. Yes it's sweet but a little goes a long way. Thanks for this yummy treat Meshel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
i love this recipe because it's very easy to follow and it comes out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mansfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Foxboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
YUM! the creme tasted like creme brulee!! served with bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PACEGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
I cooked mine too long, but the flavor was great. I used 1/3 c. sugar & mexican vanilla & it tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
A wonderful recipe for creme anglaise... simple to make. I like to use this smoothed over a slice of angel food cake and then topped with a scrumptious combination of fresh blackberries, raspberries, and blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Snow Ice Cream II

Mother Nature helps make this frozen old-timey treat.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Orange Crème Anglaise

Make a simple custard sauce with cream, egg yolks, and Grand Marnier.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States