Creme Anglaise II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
Thickness/texture similar to pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
My first attempt at home made custard, it worked perfectly, no lumps. I served it with Bread Pudding I also from this site and they were a perfect match I did cut the sugar down a little but not much. I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Absolutely delicious. Smooth and rich and divinely creamy. I made half the recipe and used half of a vanilla bean that I'd already taken the seeds from for something else. But there were still a lot of seeds left even after scraping them out, so they all went into the sauce. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
Good, but a bit too sweet. I wish I read the previous reviews and cut down on the sugar. Rather than buying half and half I decided to use up the little bit heavy whipping cream I had left over and mixed in some lowfat milk at the very end to thin it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
I made this to put on top of bread pudding. I'd never made a vanilla sauce before, but it looked easy enough. I halved the recipe and instead of cream, I used whole (homo) milk and vanilla extract. Other reviewers said to not let it cook too long, so I watched it carefully and I also strained it before serving. It came out perfectly, even using the lower fat milk. It was delicious warm, and wonderful cold the next day. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
This recipe had the perfect ingredient list for me -- I was looking to use up egg yolks and heavy cream. I used half heavy cream and half milk with the tablespoon of vanilla recommended by other members, and it is delicious! One note -- I wasn't sure by what the "until mixture coats the back of a metal spoon" point was, but here's my recommendation: stir until it thickens, but do not let it come to a boil. When it starts to boil, it starts to get a finely lumpy texture. I pulled it off the stove at that point, so mine isn't perfectly smooth. But it is still delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
Excellent--a nice, basic creme anglaise dish that tastes exactly as it's supposed to. I used a tablespoon of real vanilla extract and that worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
absolutely to die for...an excellent balance of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
This is a lovely custard sauce. Very decadent. Mine came out too yellow - I should've known sooner that I was suppose to whip the egg yolks and sugar until almost white. My first time using vanilla bean, so there were some black specks floating - I later learnt that that was normal. Also, the heat was probably a bit too high coz the custard turned into little globs. I solved this by using a handheld blender after taking the saucepan off the stove. This made the custard sauce velvety smooth! Had this with bread pudding. Was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hartini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
Excellent recipe. I used it as a sauce for my banana wrapped crepe. I had sliced bananas, topped with the creme and wrapped in the crepe. I topped the crepe with the creme again and dribbled with chocolate sauce. Kids and adults love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Snow Ice Cream II

Mother Nature helps make this frozen old-timey treat.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Orange Crème Anglaise

Make a simple custard sauce with cream, egg yolks, and Grand Marnier.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States