Creme Anglaise II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Fantastic after I cut down the sugar. I served it over soft Ginger Cake to 130 very happy people at a Christmas Festival. To those who have problems with lumps, try cooking the egg and milk together in a non-reactive bowl over a pot of boiling water (double boiler style). Just make sure you add some hot cream to the egg first, as instructed. It doesn't take much longer and it's almost impossible to overcook the egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J.

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fox Lake, Illinois, USA
Living In: Spring Green, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This sauce is delicious with any dessert. I recently served it with bread pudding and the combination was heavenly. I didn't have vanilla bean on hand, so I used vanilla extract instead. I don't know if it took away from the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Good directions. I made it 2 ways. For both I cut down the sugar to 1/4 cup. For the first sauce, I used 1 tsp of vanilla extract instead of a vanilla bean. For the second sauce I used the zest of one lemon instead of the vanilla bean. After the sauce was cooked, I strained out the zest. Farm eggs gave both sauces a beautiful golden colour. They were delicious served over fresh berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
As other reviewers have stated, this recipe is way too sweet! 1/3-1/4 c sugar would be perfect! I had completely forgotten to reduce the sugar so my sauce was too sweet. To conteract the sweetness, I added a squeeze of lemon juice to the finish product (the sauce was quite thick so I added just enough to cut the sweetness without thinning out the sauce too much). I also omitted the butter since the sauce was quite rich on it's own. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Delicious! Went great over the pound cake I've had in my freezer which needed some oomph to serve to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Delicious and so easy to make. I halved the recipe. I used half milk and half heavy cream, 1 tsp pure vanilla extract and forgot to add the butter. Tasted great over tea soaked french toast with maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLUEALUE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
absolutely wonderful! i was looking for it to be a tad bit thicker, so i added a little slurry of cornstarch and water to it after all of the other ingredients were incorporated. it was delicious! thanks for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
i used 2 tsp vanilla in place of the bean. same amount of sugar as i have a sweet tooth so it didn't seem like a lot. keep stirring when you pour the egg mixture into the cream mixture. stir continuously while heating. remove from heat as soon as it starts thickening. also, strain it before serving to get rid of the few lumps and to get a perfect consistency. it was the perfect accompaniment for a bread pudding i made from here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
Just what I was looking for to make my blackberries the best I've ever tasted. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boifriendimpared

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Most definitely recommend with bread pudding. This recipe also works great if you have extra evaporated milk to use up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ambler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Snow Ice Cream II

Mother Nature helps make this frozen old-timey treat.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Orange Crème Anglaise

Make a simple custard sauce with cream, egg yolks, and Grand Marnier.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States