Creme Anglaise I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
It's easy very easy!!! Just take your time tempering the egg! I've worked in a high end restaurant this was always served is with LAVA CAKE and some VANILLA ICE CREAM!!! (Try paula dean's lava cake recipe on foodnetwork) I came here for the anglaise recipe after seeing her make the lava cake. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Served this over steamed chocolate pudding - awesome! Also with blueberry bread pudding, drizzling first with carmel sauce then the creme anglaise!! Beautiful desserts!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This recipe was great and easy to make. Great over baked apples
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
This recipe is not something you should use if you are impatient, the whole thing took me over a half hour to do well. Keep the heat very low and don't stop mixing once you add the egg mixture in until it gets nice and thick. Everyone LOVED this in our house, we had it over angel food cake with sliced strawberries and blue berries. mmmmmmm ^_^ we almost ate ourselves sick on it. Also the angel food cake tastes delicious just ripped up and dipped into the sauce. Simply wonderful and something that will definitely be making many more appearances in my cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Exploding Penguin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Good basic recipe, but I think you can probably cut back on the sugar since the heavy cream adds a lot of sweetness on its own. I used less than half the amount of sugar it was more that fine. Avoid the temptation to use too much heat, and be patient as it can take 10-15 minutes to thicken. As mentioned in other posts, if you use too much heat and get some curdling, just filter through a china cap. Can be prepared in advance and saved for a day or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Quick, simple, easy version of Creme Anglaise - and a tasty one too. I made a double batch in barely more time than it took to seperate the eggs. If you want a pale creme, whip the yolks very well or use an electic mixer or egg beater. To avoid glops - Be sure to use a heavy saucepan and don't turn the heat up too much. On my stove it was about a 3.5 or 4 of 10 (electric) or else the egg will cook and congeal. Temper the egg well and cook it slowly and you will have a rich, smooth, delicious simple version of a real creme. And if it does get lumps, strain through a mesh sieve - no harm done, it's still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
This stuff was great! I did overcook eggs so it was kinda sloppy and SUPER rich but all in all a great recipe to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belle Plaine, Iowa, USA
Living In: Blairstown, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This is an excellent recipe: tastes great and extremely easy and fast to whip up at the last minute. I added some bourbon at the end of cooking it - AppleJack or Calvados works well, too, to give it some kick for my pumpkin bread pudding. It's fantastic and foolproof. If you screw up this recipe you obviously didn't add your hot cream to the egg mixture slow enough. I add at least half of the cream to the egg mixture slowly before adding the agg mixture back into the saucepan and it never fails. Try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This was delicious. Very decedent, creamy and sweet. I paired it with some chocolate crepes that were chocolately, but not overly sweet, and bananas and fresh fruit so it was a great combination. I also substituted fresh vanilla bean (scooped out seeds into the milk mixture and also let the bean seep in the milk) for part of the extract. I think this added a more complex vanilla flavor and you also get the bonus of the seeds dotting the creme so it looks more elegant and gives you a hint as to what is in it. Everyone loved it. I will definitely make it again. I also tempered very slowly and had absolutely no problems with the egg, although I did strain through a fine mesh sieve just incase but there were no solids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELOUA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Excellent recipe!!! I also added about 2 tsp almond extract, which was the perfect touch!!! I used this recipe to accompany a chewiest brownie recipe off this site and it turned out fabulous! I also made a raspberry syrup in addition to the creme anglais and served the brownie with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. Absolutely amazing! If your creme is turning out grainy, it means that your yolk is cooking - in this case you must use a heavier pan, and during cooking stir constantly and vigorously. You may also take your pan temporarily off the heat to stir the yolk back into smooth consistency. If all else fails, the creme can be strained before serving to eliminate the curds. Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Orange Crème Anglaise

Make a simple custard sauce with cream, egg yolks, and Grand Marnier.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Whipped Coconut Cream (Vegan Whipped Cream)

Dairy-free whipped cream made with coconut milk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States