Creme Anglaise I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
good recipe. I doubled it using 1/2 milk and 1/2 heavy cream. It was pretty sweet. next time I'll use 1/2 C. sugar for the double batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Once I tempered the eggs & finished the sauce, I removed it from the saucepan into a small bowl. Place the bowl in an ice bath & continued stirring till cooled. I noticed this reduced any egg clumping. Also I didn't scrape the saucepan clean to keep clumps out of finished sauce. Very easy recipe...quality outcome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This is a lovely crème anglaise. I made a double batch to serve with homemade angel food cake, and it was a perfect way to use up 8 of the 12 egg yolks leftover from the angel food. I served the angel food with poached pears and crème anglaise... heavenly, and a definite crowd pleaser. Oh, the other thing that I did was I used one vanilla bean, split lengthwise and scraped out, instead of the vanilla extract. I cooked it with the cream in the beginning to release the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Yum, yum, yummy yum yum!!! So stinking good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
DIVINE!!! Made this yesterday afternoon exactly as mentioned (except I doubled it) and served it chilled over a crumbled vanilla pound cake with chopped strawberries and apples for dessert. The hubby polished off a big bowl of it AND took some today to the office!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I used 1/2 and 1/2 and it was great. No curdles and I didn't have to strain it!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Quick and easy recipe. Very sweet, suggest halve the amount of sugar then adjust to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Tastes good but need to use immediately or gets clumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Excellent recipe and very easy to make. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Delicious!! I didn't have a problem with lumps because, after I stopped stirring when the sauce was removed from the heat, my wife sent me back to stirring. "Just because the heat's turned off doesn't mean it stops cooking." Well, DUH!! I should have thought of that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Orange Crème Anglaise

Make a simple custard sauce with cream, egg yolks, and Grand Marnier.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States