Creme Anglaise I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This recipe was great and easy to make. Great over baked apples
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
Excellent recipe. My mother owned a french restaurant when I was a child and this recipe is as good as I remember. To the reviewers that had "lumpy, or gloppy" problems.... I believe that you "boiled" your egg yolks. Try waiting and letting the cream temper before adding the yolk mixure, then bring it back up to a boil. HTH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2003
This is a great recipe, especially served on bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
I used this recipe for a Dulce de Leche Bread Pudding that called for two cups of Creme Anglaise. It turn out GREAT!!! Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casandra Yaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
I made this to go with this site's "Deep Dark Chocolate Souffle" and it tasted great...but is it supposed to be so yellow and gloopy? Well regardless of its funny appearance, it tasted yummy so thanks! ^^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
Mmmm! Pour over pieces of pound cake and fresh fruit. I had this dessert at a local restaurant and the creme anglaise was very runny, too. Mine was just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
The sauce was so smooth and creamy and delicious. It was an excellent topping for bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairo, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Vienna, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
This sauce is so good. I put it on a bread pudding recipe I got from this sight too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynni Thorne

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Forestville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Upper Marlboro, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Excellent recipe!!! I also added about 2 tsp almond extract, which was the perfect touch!!! I used this recipe to accompany a chewiest brownie recipe off this site and it turned out fabulous! I also made a raspberry syrup in addition to the creme anglais and served the brownie with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. Absolutely amazing! If your creme is turning out grainy, it means that your yolk is cooking - in this case you must use a heavier pan, and during cooking stir constantly and vigorously. You may also take your pan temporarily off the heat to stir the yolk back into smooth consistency. If all else fails, the creme can be strained before serving to eliminate the curds. Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
This recipe is not something you should use if you are impatient, the whole thing took me over a half hour to do well. Keep the heat very low and don't stop mixing once you add the egg mixture in until it gets nice and thick. Everyone LOVED this in our house, we had it over angel food cake with sliced strawberries and blue berries. mmmmmmm ^_^ we almost ate ourselves sick on it. Also the angel food cake tastes delicious just ripped up and dipped into the sauce. Simply wonderful and something that will definitely be making many more appearances in my cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Exploding Penguin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Orange Crème Anglaise

Make a simple custard sauce with cream, egg yolks, and Grand Marnier.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States