Creme Anglaise I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Quick, simple, easy version of Creme Anglaise - and a tasty one too. I made a double batch in barely more time than it took to seperate the eggs. If you want a pale creme, whip the yolks very well or use an electic mixer or egg beater. To avoid glops - Be sure to use a heavy saucepan and don't turn the heat up too much. On my stove it was about a 3.5 or 4 of 10 (electric) or else the egg will cook and congeal. Temper the egg well and cook it slowly and you will have a rich, smooth, delicious simple version of a real creme. And if it does get lumps, strain through a mesh sieve - no harm done, it's still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
Excellent recipe. My mother owned a french restaurant when I was a child and this recipe is as good as I remember. To the reviewers that had "lumpy, or gloppy" problems.... I believe that you "boiled" your egg yolks. Try waiting and letting the cream temper before adding the yolk mixure, then bring it back up to a boil. HTH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Excellent recipe!!! I also added about 2 tsp almond extract, which was the perfect touch!!! I used this recipe to accompany a chewiest brownie recipe off this site and it turned out fabulous! I also made a raspberry syrup in addition to the creme anglais and served the brownie with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. Absolutely amazing! If your creme is turning out grainy, it means that your yolk is cooking - in this case you must use a heavier pan, and during cooking stir constantly and vigorously. You may also take your pan temporarily off the heat to stir the yolk back into smooth consistency. If all else fails, the creme can be strained before serving to eliminate the curds. Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This is an excellent recipe: tastes great and extremely easy and fast to whip up at the last minute. I added some bourbon at the end of cooking it - AppleJack or Calvados works well, too, to give it some kick for my pumpkin bread pudding. It's fantastic and foolproof. If you screw up this recipe you obviously didn't add your hot cream to the egg mixture slow enough. I add at least half of the cream to the egg mixture slowly before adding the agg mixture back into the saucepan and it never fails. Try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2003
This is a great recipe, especially served on bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
Made as instructed (except used milk instead of cream). Tastes delicious, but is gloopy looking as others have mentioned. It certainly doesn't look pretty!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shealuna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I actually found this creme anglaise to be a bit too sweet and too "eggy" for my taste. (yes, I do realize that creme anglaise is a custard, which = eggs!!) I am a very seasoned cook and have made creme anglaise numerous times. I know I didn't do anything wrong - it's just the recipe. I have liked other recipes better. Definitely edible, though - how can you really go wrong with cream, eggs and sugar? :) As for the vanilla, you should never add this at the boiling stage. Always add it at the end. The only other modification I made was to add some dark rum at the end to cut some of the sweet/egg richness. Overall, this was an average creme anglaise, and thus my rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
Mmmm! Pour over pieces of pound cake and fresh fruit. I had this dessert at a local restaurant and the creme anglaise was very runny, too. Mine was just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This was delicious. Very decedent, creamy and sweet. I paired it with some chocolate crepes that were chocolately, but not overly sweet, and bananas and fresh fruit so it was a great combination. I also substituted fresh vanilla bean (scooped out seeds into the milk mixture and also let the bean seep in the milk) for part of the extract. I think this added a more complex vanilla flavor and you also get the bonus of the seeds dotting the creme so it looks more elegant and gives you a hint as to what is in it. Everyone loved it. I will definitely make it again. I also tempered very slowly and had absolutely no problems with the egg, although I did strain through a fine mesh sieve just incase but there were no solids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELOUA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
This sauce is so good. I put it on a bread pudding recipe I got from this sight too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynni Thorne

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Forestville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Upper Marlboro, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Orange Crème Anglaise

Make a simple custard sauce with cream, egg yolks, and Grand Marnier.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Whipped Coconut Cream (Vegan Whipped Cream)

Dairy-free whipped cream made with coconut milk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States