Creme Anglaise I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Excellent recipe and very easy to make. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Delicious!! I didn't have a problem with lumps because, after I stopped stirring when the sauce was removed from the heat, my wife sent me back to stirring. "Just because the heat's turned off doesn't mean it stops cooking." Well, DUH!! I should have thought of that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
So good and so easy to make. However, cut down on the sugar unless you have a real sweet tooth. I think next time I'm only going to add 1/4 c. of sugar. But good all the same! I had mine with a baked apple...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
great on bread pudding :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andrea123

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Very tasty. Just be sure not to overcook as the eggs will curdle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
First time making Creme Anglaise. Used this recipe exactly(I used a true vanilla bean in the cream) and it turned out amazing. Was sweet but the asian pear cake I put in on wasn't too sweet so it worked out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Good flavor, but it was yellow. That kinda grossed me out for some reason. I should have read reviews prior to making, because it didn't specify what level of heat or how long it should take to thicken. No harm though. I cooked it on medium and after mixing the egg mixture back into the cream, it took about 3 minutes to thicken. It turned out a perfect consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CN29URSERY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Delicious and easy! Although very sweet. I'll use a little less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I actually found this creme anglaise to be a bit too sweet and too "eggy" for my taste. (yes, I do realize that creme anglaise is a custard, which = eggs!!) I am a very seasoned cook and have made creme anglaise numerous times. I know I didn't do anything wrong - it's just the recipe. I have liked other recipes better. Definitely edible, though - how can you really go wrong with cream, eggs and sugar? :) As for the vanilla, you should never add this at the boiling stage. Always add it at the end. The only other modification I made was to add some dark rum at the end to cut some of the sweet/egg richness. Overall, this was an average creme anglaise, and thus my rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I made this to accompany warm Gingerbread Cake. So wonderful and simple. I didn't have any vanilla beans in the house, so this recipe was more convenient than most others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ETOILECHOU83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Orange Crème Anglaise

Make a simple custard sauce with cream, egg yolks, and Grand Marnier.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Whipped Coconut Cream (Vegan Whipped Cream)

Dairy-free whipped cream made with coconut milk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States