Creme Anglaise I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Danny Yap
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
SO easy to prepare! Love the smooth texture and rich taste. Substituted vanilla extract with vanilla pod seeds instead. Reduced the sugar a little and added a pinch of cinnamon and nutmeg to enhance the taste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danny Yap

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I really like this recipe. It is short, cleary written down,and very easy. Above all, it is delicious!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
good recipe. I doubled it using 1/2 milk and 1/2 heavy cream. It was pretty sweet. next time I'll use 1/2 C. sugar for the double batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Once I tempered the eggs & finished the sauce, I removed it from the saucepan into a small bowl. Place the bowl in an ice bath & continued stirring till cooled. I noticed this reduced any egg clumping. Also I didn't scrape the saucepan clean to keep clumps out of finished sauce. Very easy recipe...quality outcome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This is a lovely crème anglaise. I made a double batch to serve with homemade angel food cake, and it was a perfect way to use up 8 of the 12 egg yolks leftover from the angel food. I served the angel food with poached pears and crème anglaise... heavenly, and a definite crowd pleaser. Oh, the other thing that I did was I used one vanilla bean, split lengthwise and scraped out, instead of the vanilla extract. I cooked it with the cream in the beginning to release the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Yum, yum, yummy yum yum!!! So stinking good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
DIVINE!!! Made this yesterday afternoon exactly as mentioned (except I doubled it) and served it chilled over a crumbled vanilla pound cake with chopped strawberries and apples for dessert. The hubby polished off a big bowl of it AND took some today to the office!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I used 1/2 and 1/2 and it was great. No curdles and I didn't have to strain it!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Quick and easy recipe. Very sweet, suggest halve the amount of sugar then adjust to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Tastes good but need to use immediately or gets clumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Orange Crème Anglaise

Make a simple custard sauce with cream, egg yolks, and Grand Marnier.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States