Creamy White Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This recipe is one of the best I've found, to make the base for chicken or turkey tetrazzini. My alteration includes starting with sauteeing mushrooms and minced garlic in olive oil, then making the sauce from there. It definitely needs garlic maybe instead of the salt. I use Marsala cooking wine, which makes a great tasting sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I am rating on this recipe as it is written. The ingredients are a little off and throwing them all in a saucepan before cooking the flour can't be right. I thought I would try it though.... and it just wasn't very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This is a great base sauce!! I didn't use all the salt it called for because I added Parmesan cheese to the sauce. I also added oregano, about a tsp. of chopped garlic, and a can of mushrooms. I put the sauce over cheese tortellini and it was fantastic!!! Whole family loved it and I would consider making it for a dinner party! Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneSailorsGirl03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I made this exactly as stated and it was way too salty and I really like salt. I think with some changes it would be a good sauce but as is I do not like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
it's a good base but it's way to bland. I seasoned it with a heap of garlic, dried roasted red pepper,white pepper, and basil. I used a gluten free flour and half and half. I used a very cheap pinot grigio and decided that it was too strong in the sauce so then, I added almost alnother half or half and half and about three tablespoons of chicken broth. served over GF raviolli and chicken. My VERY PICKY husband is devouring it as I type this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsHouse3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Wine can be overpowering and salt should be halved. I've also added some chicken stock as the sauce was a but bland without it. It's an okay sauce but I'd probably use another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
This sauce was perfect! I made it to pour over chicken cordon blue and it was just the right thing to make it a little more fancy, and it was very easy! I will be using this one a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This is a great base recipe! I added some chicken granules to take the edge off of the wine flavor. I added about 1/2 teaspoon. Also added about a 1/2 cup of fresh parm and Ramano. Added garlic to my taste and it turned out delicious. I poured it over baked chicken stuffed with spinach and cottage cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbais

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I didn't follow this recipe exactly because I was looking for a white wine sauce but not a creamy one. I replaced the cream with chicken broth but kept everything else the same. Very delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cruisergirl21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I used this as a base and added a package of fresh Parmesan cheese and a pkg of pesto mix, omitted the parsley, poured it over gnocchi, it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xtina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Carnation® Simple White Sauce

This simple, versatile white sauce is the starting point for so many great meals.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States