Creamy White Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
When I first tried making this, I followed the recipe as is, and thought it was good, but not great. When I made it enough and finally got comfortable with it, I started to add some other ingredients to it. I first caramelized some garlic in a couple tablespoons of butter and a drizzle of olive oil. Then I added the wine and the heavy cream and let the wine reduce. I also added a little bit of chicken stock, and some dried herbs, and thought that it came out wonderfully with the additions. Very simple yet delectable sauce. Will be making this again. I love wine sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
FABULOUS and easy! Instead of dried parsley I used a couple teaspoons of Jerk Seasoning and mixed in with chicken breasts (baked with jerk seasoning) and whole grain egg noodles. We WILL be having this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Wow! I'm with another reviewer....WAY too much salt. It's all I could taste. Be careful with the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Man, just wasted 2 cups of cream and 1 1/2 cup wine when the whole thing CURDLED. I read the first 20 reviews and no one mentioned anything about being careful of curdling. No idea what happened, but am SOOOO disappointed. I need to read up on the science of how NOT to curdle you cream when adding wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I made this exactly how it was supposed to be made. Maybe it was the cheap wine I used, I will try this again and use a better wine. The wine was just SO overwhelming in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ienjoypocky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Linton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
very yummy and easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COASTALSTORM25

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I liked the sauce, I thought it was a little bland, I added less salt then it called for and lemon pepper. WONDERFUL! I will be making it again... this was great on fish but would also be good on veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Okay, so this sauce has just changed my life. How can a sauce do that, you ask? By taking a dish I've made for YEARS and turning it into the most scrumptious meal my family has had in a long while. Garlic mushrooms are a dinner staple, ie, fresh garlic, butter, sea salt, fresh pepper, and fresh mushrooms cooked in the oven for about 40 mins.... tonight I COMBINED the cooked mushrooms with the white wine sauce (plus fresh parsley but no salt). It was sooo amazing... poured over some simple sauteed chicken breasts... sigh. DELISH. This simple sauce recipe is just sitting here, waiting for each chef to come along and make it their own. I will be adding sauteed onions and serving over fish, or broccoli and over pasta... or with chocolate over cake... okay maybe not the last one, but you get the idea... it's a great recipe to add to your arsenal of yummy tricks. Yep. Life changed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin White

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
excellent! I used this on sauteed scallops and veggies on penne. It was really fast and easy and turned out great. I used sage instead of parsley since that's what i had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I am sorry to be honest here, but this sauce tastes too bitter with the white wine. I suggest adding in some butter, roasted garlic and a ton of seasonings to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Carnation® Simple White Sauce

This simple, versatile white sauce is the starting point for so many great meals.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States