Creamy White Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I don't like giving negative feedback, especially when everyone's techniques vary and create different flavors, so it could have just been me, but I did not care for this at all. I've made other white wine sauces before because my husband loves it, but just as others have stated, it was very bland and way too salty and the wine flavor was so strong is absolutely drowned the chicken and pasta I poured it over. We ended up ordering takeout. I added a few herbs (basil, tarragon, fresh garlic) but nothing would bring out the flavor and dull down the excessive wine taste. I'm sorry, but I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Liberty, Missouri, USA
Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
perfect recipe to serve over linguine with sauteed shrimp. yum. exactly what i was looking for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
It's a good base recipe, as others have said. I added garlic and 2 tsp. Old Bay and then served it over lobster ravioli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justynajd
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I'e been using this recipe since I came across it in 2006. However, since my culinary skills have improved so has the quality of this sauce courtesy of the modifications I have chosen. I add only 3/4 tsp salt. Additionally, i substitute half the amount of flour called for with 1 tbs of cornstarch instead which eliminates the "flour-ey" taste and thickens the sauce all in one go. As my Grandmother taught me, "Recipes are only a guideline – you can do anything you want." SO . . . many thanks for the past years of this lovely white wine sauce : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I made this for my family and I was the only one that liked it. Kinda bummed they didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Delicious! Added 1 teaspoon of oregano and basil for a little bit more flavor. Once on the pasta, I sprinkled some grated parm on top as well as fresh parsley and cilantro with a freshly squeezed lemon. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Great sauce. We used it with flounder with some added capers, artichokes, garlic, and shrimp. It was awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
If you reduce the wine a little you can add some jarred artichoke hearts. Just cut them up a little and add to chicken. I also use chicken thighs, season them and saute them in butter and olive oil and reserve the flavor for the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Azusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I would not recommend following this recipe exactly. Usually I add salt to taste, but this one time I followed the recipe and I regret it. With the wine and the salt it tasted like ocean water. I used a cooking wine, so the extra salt was probably not necessary, but I didn't realize it until it was too late. I also could have used a lot less wine. I had to add a ton of milk to the sauce to make it edible. Next time, IF I make this again, I'm going strictly by taste. Be careful if you try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
This is how I made it, and I liked it: - half an onion - tsp minced garlic - 1 cup half and half creamo (less fat) - 3/4 cup wine - 1 Tbsp flour - tsp paprika - seasoning salt until your desired saltiness - cut up fresh basil Fry onion & garlic in a pan until the onion is soft. Add the rest of the ingredients. Was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Carnation® Simple White Sauce

This simple, versatile white sauce is the starting point for so many great meals.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States