Creamy White Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
We were having pasta one night, and I was trying to figure out something to go with it, saw that we had all the ingredients for this sauce and whipped it up in no time. It's now a family favorite and we make it all the time! It's really easy and sooooo good with pasta, chicken, fish, nearly anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
This is a great cream sauce recipe - either plain or to start from. I doubled the recipe and served it on ham/asparagus pasta. I did add a lot of fresh ground pepper. I think next time I prepare this - I will add either shallots, mushrooms, and/or fresh parsley that has been sauteed in butter - after the sauce is thickened - and then serve it on angel hair pasta or "bird nest" pasta. Perhaps the reviewer before me didn't like it because they didn't use their favorite wine? I used a medium sweet white wine this time - but will use a drier one next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OCTOGURL83
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Quick and dirty sauce; minimal ingredients needed. I added basil, oregano and fresh garlic slivers to add more taste. I also topped the pasta w/ sauteed basil & lemon chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
You have got to be kidding me...There is way too much salt in this sauce. I should have used my better judgement and only used half, but I dumped it all in AS PER RECIPE. Sorry to say, but that was a huge mistake. It tasted like ocean water! I will try the reduced version next time, but am rating this based on the original recipe..GADZOOKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
This sauce was so easy, throw it all together and voila! No mixing steps. I was concerned it would come out lumpy, ended up smooth as a baby's butt. I gave this a 4 because of the lack of flavour. I added garlic and chives to mine. Great base sauce. I served if over bow tie pasta, shrimp and Brocoli. Yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2001
I put shrimp in the sauce over linguini noodles. It was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
Yummy! This recipe is good and easy! I made it with bow ties, frozen peas and tuna... my husband loved it. I will be making this again, and tring all different things! Thanks for sharing Sara
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDYTAMI
Home Town: Deptford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
Pretty good white sauce. It will just cover a lb of noodles with veggies. I will try it again with some other pasta dishes found on this site that have some spices in it...cuz this sauce will help zing it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2001
For what it is, it is just great! A quick, dead simple white wine sauce that tastes lovely. I thought it worked well over some zucchini and green peppers and pasta, but I'm sure it'll have a lot of uses. Thanks alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
Very good! It was tasty, yet practical. I served this over chicken and my fiance loved it. I only added half the salt,and it was still great. I also left out a pinch of the flour, only because I like a thinner cream sauce. This is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loma Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Carnation® Simple White Sauce

This simple, versatile white sauce is the starting point for so many great meals.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States