Creamy White Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I'e been using this recipe since I came across it in 2006. However, since my culinary skills have improved so has the quality of this sauce courtesy of the modifications I have chosen. I add only 3/4 tsp salt. Additionally, i substitute half the amount of flour called for with 1 tbs of cornstarch instead which eliminates the "flour-ey" taste and thickens the sauce all in one go. As my Grandmother taught me, "Recipes are only a guideline – you can do anything you want." SO . . . many thanks for the past years of this lovely white wine sauce : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I made this for my family and I was the only one that liked it. Kinda bummed they didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Delicious! Added 1 teaspoon of oregano and basil for a little bit more flavor. Once on the pasta, I sprinkled some grated parm on top as well as fresh parsley and cilantro with a freshly squeezed lemon. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Great sauce. We used it with flounder with some added capers, artichokes, garlic, and shrimp. It was awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
If you reduce the wine a little you can add some jarred artichoke hearts. Just cut them up a little and add to chicken. I also use chicken thighs, season them and saute them in butter and olive oil and reserve the flavor for the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Azusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I would not recommend following this recipe exactly. Usually I add salt to taste, but this one time I followed the recipe and I regret it. With the wine and the salt it tasted like ocean water. I used a cooking wine, so the extra salt was probably not necessary, but I didn't realize it until it was too late. I also could have used a lot less wine. I had to add a ton of milk to the sauce to make it edible. Next time, IF I make this again, I'm going strictly by taste. Be careful if you try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
This is how I made it, and I liked it: - half an onion - tsp minced garlic - 1 cup half and half creamo (less fat) - 3/4 cup wine - 1 Tbsp flour - tsp paprika - seasoning salt until your desired saltiness - cut up fresh basil Fry onion & garlic in a pan until the onion is soft. Add the rest of the ingredients. Was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
This was a good starter sauce. I used a Piesporter wine, which was entirely too sweet. You definitely need a drier wine for this sauce. Otherwise, I think it would have been really tasty! I'll try it again with a drier wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odon, Indiana, USA
Living In: Wauseon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This was a nice white wine sauce but i might use even less salt. it had a bit salty taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chaossyren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Very good, but it does have a strong wine taste. I will use less wine next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States