Creamy White Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I just made this for the first time and LOVE IT! The only thing I did different was I added a splash of lemon juice (and I mean a splash!) and a dash of basil. I eyeballed the salt to be on the safe side because I do use cooking wine that has a salty taste already. I will definately be using this recipe over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This recipe was excellent, simple, and quick. I followed it exact, except for the fact that I doubled it. I made bowtie pasta, sauted some minced garlic, chopped onions and red bell pepper, mushrooms, peas, and threw in some leftover rotisserie chichen. After the pasta was drained I threw everything in the large pot and mixed it. (This was not salty, let alone too salty. Perhaps the other reviewer accidentally used a tablespoon of salt instead of a teaspoon).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I really liked this. It was simple to throw together and its just a basic sauce, so it was real easy to put in the flavors that I wanted..I added fresh garlic and fresh chopped basil and tossed this with farfalle and roasted veggies - it was amazing!! I don't know what people were talking about with the "too much salt" comments. I just eyeballed the salt, and ended up having to go back and add more, so I probably put in more than what was called for. I don't usually use a lot of salt in my cooking - when I think something needs salt, it REALLY needs salt, lol.. But to each their own. I will definitely be making this again =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
This is a very basic white wine sauce that has potential to be amazing! When I made this, I added some 1/4 tsp garlic salt (in place of normal salt), 1 TBS garlic powder, and freshly chopped garlic as well. I also added a little flour to thicken. I let the heavy cream, wine and previous ingredients heat up. Then I added some sun dried tomatoes and peas. At the same time, I diced some chicken, seasoned it with salt and garlic powder and browned it in a different pan, then added a splash of white wine for added flavor. Once the chicken was almost cooked I added it to the sauce to finish cooking. I also added some spiral noodles and tossed it together. It came out delicious! This is a basic recipe but with some of your own touches it can be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
SUPER SAUCE! I used this over Stuffed Chicken! Start with 1/2 the salt, then salt to taste! Other than that, it was amazing. Wonderful base sauce, as everyone will add more of the things they like. There really is no way to mess this up! I added fresh parsley and garlic; I will be adding more fresh herbs next time! And too winey? Not at all! I used white cooking wine, and it came out wonderful. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Nicely done
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Quick, easy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I bounced between a 3 and a 4 star. I am somewhat inexperienced cooking with wines and found the taste overwhelming. Perhaps because I used a white cooking wine rather than drinking wine? (Salt is added to cooking wine and changes the flavor.) Next time I will use the Chardonnay I drink and add only a tablespoon or two at a time until I achieve the taste that I desire. I ended up adding quite a bit more cream (used a mixture of heavy and half and half) to balance the flavor, and even added a bit of pan drippings to mellow the wine taste. Rich and creamy thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Handful

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ada, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
It's a simple tasting sauce BUT too much wine! I served it to my children and had to cut it with cold milk after taking it off the stove and adding it to my macaroni. All in all, good quick white sauce for a change up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Great flavor - you can taste the wine still after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOEY ANNA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Carnation® Simple White Sauce

This simple, versatile white sauce is the starting point for so many great meals.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States