Creamy White Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Good basic recipse, but I have to agree with those that commented on too much salt. Being warned beforehand, I cut the salt down by half and it was still too much for our taste (and we generally don't mind things a little salty). I added some half and half and a dash of sugar to counteract it. The sugar hint is one I learned from my mother - it "calms down" saltiness if you overdo it. Just a a little bit at a time though (by taste) so the sauce doesn't become noticeably sweet. After these corrections it was very good over my seared scallops and linguine pasta! Oh, I also added a clove of garlic, minced - sauteed in the pan in olive oil before adding the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
This was great rich sauce. Added sauteed garlic. One of my favorites for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I used fat free half & half. It turrned out perfect! I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I did not care for this. Maybe I used the wrong wine. I used Chardona. Wanda H. Texas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This is a good easy sauce. My wife cannot have gluten, so for a gluten free option substitut the flour with corn starch, but make sure to use half of what it calls for in flour as corn starch thickens WAY more than flour does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Way too much salt, and very plain. Cut the salt in half and use this as a base to add flavor to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This is my go-to sauce. It's so simple and goes amazing with seafood or chicken. Try adding lobster! It would make even the worlds biggest lobster hater a fan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I don't like giving negative feedback, especially when everyone's techniques vary and create different flavors, so it could have just been me, but I did not care for this at all. I've made other white wine sauces before because my husband loves it, but just as others have stated, it was very bland and way too salty and the wine flavor was so strong is absolutely drowned the chicken and pasta I poured it over. We ended up ordering takeout. I added a few herbs (basil, tarragon, fresh garlic) but nothing would bring out the flavor and dull down the excessive wine taste. I'm sorry, but I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Liberty, Missouri, USA
Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
perfect recipe to serve over linguine with sauteed shrimp. yum. exactly what i was looking for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
It's a good base recipe, as others have said. I added garlic and 2 tsp. Old Bay and then served it over lobster ravioli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justynajd

Displaying results 21-30 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States