Creamy White Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I made this for a chili cook-off and it tied for 1st place! I even used 3 cans of canned chicken, drained. I cooked the onion and garlic and chicken together in the olive oil, then added that and the rest of the ingredients to my crock-pot, following the directions at the end for adding the sour cream and whipping cream when the crock-pot was off. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by drhorton
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
My family LOVED this recipe! I substituted pinto beans instead of the northern beans, added shredded cheese, and served with honey corbread ~ delish. Sorry, the photo I added is not the best but I would definitely recommend anyone trying this. Good luck! My vote is 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drhorton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Simple and tasty! I used a cooked turkey breast from our deli, and did not add the cream. I also used low fat sour cream to cut more calories. I only used one can of green chilis, which was perfect for our family. The mix of spices is wonderful and my husband raved about it. Will be my White Chili recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
My family gobbled this up tonight. It was fantastic. I did modify it just a bit. For starters I added onion, green pepper, minced garlic, chicken and olive oil to the pan and cooked for about 10-15 minutes. Meanwhile, I drained the great northern beans ( I was afraid of soup like consistency instead of hearty chili) and corn. I also used Swanson's Mexican Tortilla Flavor Infused Broth ( includes flavors of monterey jack cheese, lime, cayenne pepper, cumin, toasted corn, jalapeno, and paprika). I put all ingredients into a crockpot and cooked on high for 2 hours. Once done I added just enough heavy whipping cream to give it that cream like texture without overbearing the rest of the flavors. I saved the sour cream for the side because my son dislikes sour cream. It is delicious with and without sour cream. I topped with cilantro, a sprinkle of monterey jack cheese, and served lime flavored tortillas on the side. This is my husbands new favorite chili recipe and mine as well. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittbaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Adrian, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I just made this for my family. They thought it would be thicker and so did I. The flavor was great but we wanted a thicker chili consistency. It was more like soup. I followed the recipe to a T. When I saw the soupy texture I tried to thicken it. Didn't really do the trick. I will let it boil down a little next time and puree a couple cans of the beans with some broth. Needs some tweaking for our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Hanley Froomkin
Home Town: Girard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I recently won 1st place in a Chili cook off with this recipe. I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
My son made this recipe, and we all loved it! Just wanted more for leftovers, next time we will double it. He used half and half instead of heavy cream because thats all we had. Soup was a little thin I think, because of that. Next time I might try adding a bit of flour to thicken the soup. We all went back for seconds, will definitely be making this one again! Have been looking for a white bean chili, and I found it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
So delish! Have made this twice now (in one weekend!) left out the whipping cream both times because I didn't have any and honestly didn't miss it nor it's calories. Also, used pinto beans one of the times AND simmered it in my crockpot for several hours before adding sour cream! Easy peasy, I tell ya!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wkburg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
i made changes...nothing drastic. i mashed one of the cans of great beans, i used almost a whole left-over roto chicken, only i can of the green chilies, sauted about a third of a cup sweet red bell pepper, a can with the liquid of sweet whole kernel white corn and then eye-balled the chicken stock needed to keep it from sticking while bringing it to a boil. left it on low after the boil for @ an hour. it was delicious. i added the sour cream and heavy cream to the indiviual bowls. i preferred it without the cream. excellent use for simple left-overs. i bet it would freeze excellent without the sour and heavy cream, which could be added after defrosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
This was delicious and easy. I like that you don't have to have precooked chicken... saves a step. I added an extra can of beans, used fat-free sour cream, and subbed in evaporated milk for the cream, just to make it a little healthier. My whole family loved it! Served with grated cheddar and crushed tortilla chips. My kids told me it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

This zesty white-bean chili packs some heat!

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States