Creamy Whipped Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
To be honest, I tried really hard to make this frosting work. I couldn't handle the greasy-ness of it and there wasn't any flavor or "fluff" to it. I used powdered sugar and still nothing. At least I can say I tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Waxy texture, very little taste. May have been fine for writing, but when I tried to write with it the liquid separated out and came out the top of my piping bag, leaving a dry, waxy paste in the bag that took forever to clean out. Don't waste your time with this frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
made this with much concern and after tasting it decided that I would not make it again, but since I had no other options at the time and the cake was needed the next day I used it and GLAD i did... I used it to ice the cake as well as pipe decor on it... The taste only improves with time... My cake turned out great...will be using this OFTEN...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wiggins, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I have been making this recipe for years. I have found the longer you let it mix the easier the sugar blends into the icing. I mix it for 10-minutes and I have found that the sugar almost melts into the mixture. If it is gritty at all by the time I serve the cake it is fine. This icing is requested by friends and family ALL the time. It is exceptional on a dark chocolate cake. I have also added cocoa powder to the sugar/shortening mix and it makes an excellant chocolate icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
The texture of this frosting was questionable. I didn't like the regular granulated sugar in it, because it made the frosting crunchy. I wish I'd tried powdered sugar. The frosting didn't really have much of a flavor, but it did have a waxy feel like one other comment stated. For flavor, I added a small box of orange jello mix and a couple extra tablespoons of evaporated milk. I did not understand why the butter, shortening, sugar and vanilla needed to be beaten/mixed for 8-10 minutes. This is excessive. It's not like I'm making a froth or whipping egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Witte Grubbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I needed a quick recipe to frost funfetti cupcakes and I didnt have 10x sugar, so I tried this...I used real butter, crisco, and imported vanilla and it tasted like eating lard...The only thing I could think of to make it have a taste was to pour near a whole package of jello raspberry jello in it...It did help, but I won't be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen U

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Sorry to give a bad review, but no matter what I tried from other reviewers--powdered sugar, extra vanilla, butter instead of margarine--it still turned out tasting like straight shortening. Very pretty frosting, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
The only thing I did different was use Powdered Sugar instead of white sugar. It came out just like the whipped cream frosting I've had from bakeries. I WILL suggest the following: make sure you use butter and not margarine or spread. Also, really beat it well. It takes awhile for the evap milk to start setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
My husband LOVES this frosting, I add a little more sugar and vanilla to give the flavor a boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
This recipe was one that I decided to try because it seemed easy and I had all the ingredients in the house. Along with what other raters have to say, I found it quite waxy tasting when in the bowl, but when I tried it spread thinly on a cupcake, it tasted fine. I probably wouldn't be making it again, as there's nothing extraordinary about it and it just wasn't what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Polexia

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States