Creamy Vidalia Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
When I made this I followed the recipe pretty closely. I used sweet onions, but they weren’t Vidalias and it took me a full 30 minutes before they reached a nice golden caramelized color. I skipped the eggs as suggested by several other reviewers. This wasn’t too sweet for us at all, but overall it was just ok. When I asked Hubs if I should save the leftovers for him he said no, which in my view is not a good sign, so I’m sure I won’t be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I modified a bit... I didn't have heavy cream so I used skim milk, 1 1/2 cups and added about 3 oz flavored cream cheese to thicken. I used southwest flavor, but all of them are good. also I added mushrooms for texture before the egg yolk. Turned out great, I wish I would have doubled the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
just made this tonight, omitted the eggs and it came out perfectly. My husband was absolutely in love with this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Soo good with hot french bread. . . mmm I want it again lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
great mild flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I did have to change some things...but great base. Didn't have cream so I used a pinch of sugar and 2% milk. Also added carrots, Dried oregano, parsley and basil, no paprika or hot sauce. Pretty tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chantelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Westfield, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This was good. Since I alter everything to be gluten free, this was no exception. To do this skip the roux. Follow the recipe otherwise, except using 1 tbsp less butter. Reserve 1/2 cup of the milk and save for the end (before the eggs if you are using them). Mix the reserved 1/2 cup of milk with 1 tbsp of corn starch and stir in. Stir frequently to thicken. Then add the eggs if you are not omitting them. Thanks for sharing! Very good use for Vidalia onions that need to be used. Topped with cheddar cheese and it's a very filling meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
I made this exactly as written. I used one extremely large and one medium Vidalia onion. This tastes excellent, should of made a bigger batch lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ralph Carson

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Hmm,this is a good soup it want your soup to be creamy but I don't think I'll make it again for I like my onion soup,well,not creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
WONDERFUL! i sauteed onions, removed them from the pan, then pureed onions in blender set it aside. added butter flour to make riox, then whisked in chicken stock and milk and added the puree back in. i only did this to have a smooth and creamier soup. didnt change the ingredients tho. this was supergood. ps. i also garnished with chedder, yummmmy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States