Creamy Veggie Potato Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
When making this recipe, I was in a hurry and didn't have cream at hand. I browned the veggies rather than cook them in water, added onions, doubled the flour and, because there was no broth, added some veggie boullion cubes. I added no water, but rather, used fat free milk for the whole thing. Added in some frozen brocolli, just for fun. It was sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUPERNOVADARK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ceres, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2000
This recipe is easy and very good. As with any recipe, we all tweek it to our own. So, I added some fresh mushrooms at the onion-butter cooking stage. Added extra paprika, salt and pepper and in the end I pureed about 1/3 of the soup to make it a little thicker and that way I was able to add quite a bit of the veggie stock you make with the potato broth. This is a scrumptous recipe and I will recommend it to my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This was really good! After reading other reviews, I cooked the carrots and celery with the onions. I also added garlic to the butter and vegetables. I added much more paprika and pepper than were called for in the recipe, and it wasn't spicy at all. I also salted the water when I cooked the potatoes, which I diced. And I added some frozen peas toward the end of cooking for color. It was delicious, and I can't wait to tweak it again sometime with some cheese and other vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
Great standard recipe for veggie stew to start and lots of room to add ingredients for your preferences. I don't believe you need the whole cream, I used 2% milk seemed a little overboard. You may need to add a little additional flour. I also added other veggies, beans, spices to this stew. Very satisfying..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
A hearty, filling vegetarian stew that I have made several times. I usually use whole milk rather than cream since that is what I have on hand. Like others have mentioned, I find that it needs more spice to make it flavorful enough, so I generously double the paprika and am heavy handed with the black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This soup was easy and a great hit with my family. First time I've ever made a cream-of-anything soup, and it turned out so well, I'm going to try other cream based soups. I didn't have any cream on hand, so instead of using cream and water, I used 2% milk for the liquid. Like the other posters, I added quite a lot more of the salt and pepper (about triple) than this recipe called for, but it was just right. I garnished with a small amount of shredded sharp cheddar when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Venessia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Vail, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I didn't have high hopes for this, but it actually was pretty good. I do agree that it's a little bland--even after I upped the paprika to 2 tsp. I found that I should have sauteed the onions a little longer than 10 minutes, but if you are good at doing a fine dice (I'm not), then 10 minutes might be fine. Keep a careful eye on the potatoes, carrots and celery while boiling, so the potatoes don't get too mushy. (And try to dice the carrots small so they cook through.) I used white potatoes, which worked well. I think this might benefit from substituting chicken or vegetable broth for the water. I added a European seasoning called Vegeta that I like, and that perked the soup right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Yummyy!! The recipe is great. Substituted milk for cream and turned out perfect (just use less water and more milk).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
really good with afew tweeks.Add garlic when you saute the onions.Grill or broil slivers of great ham to add at the end.Oh and puree some of the potatoes for a thicker soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: West Linn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I customized this a bit to my taste. Sauteed one onion, 2 carrots, and 1 1/2 stalk celery together in about 1 1/2 tbs butter with a couple shakes of pepper salt and garlic powder added 5 cubed potatoes 5 cups broth, basil, garlic powder, onion powder, salt, paprika and some Mrs Dash...brought to a boil lowered to simmer covered and cooked for about 15 minutes(I diced potatoes very small) In small bowl I mixed together 1 can evaporated milk and 2 tbs cornstarch added to soup brought to a boil until thickened. YUMMY!!! I also didn't make as large of pot as the recipe makes cuz I'm the only person in my home who'll touch a potato. Good base recipe as listed but I would never cook the potatoes seperate throw it all in together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States