Creamy Veggie Potato Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I customized this a bit to my taste. Sauteed one onion, 2 carrots, and 1 1/2 stalk celery together in about 1 1/2 tbs butter with a couple shakes of pepper salt and garlic powder added 5 cubed potatoes 5 cups broth, basil, garlic powder, onion powder, salt, paprika and some Mrs Dash...brought to a boil lowered to simmer covered and cooked for about 15 minutes(I diced potatoes very small) In small bowl I mixed together 1 can evaporated milk and 2 tbs cornstarch added to soup brought to a boil until thickened. YUMMY!!! I also didn't make as large of pot as the recipe makes cuz I'm the only person in my home who'll touch a potato. Good base recipe as listed but I would never cook the potatoes seperate throw it all in together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This soup was easy and a great hit with my family. First time I've ever made a cream-of-anything soup, and it turned out so well, I'm going to try other cream based soups. I didn't have any cream on hand, so instead of using cream and water, I used 2% milk for the liquid. Like the other posters, I added quite a lot more of the salt and pepper (about triple) than this recipe called for, but it was just right. I garnished with a small amount of shredded sharp cheddar when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Venessia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Vail, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
delicious and quick to make, I also took the recommendation to cook all the veggies in the saute pan added aliitle garlic and my husband couldn't get enough! I know this will be a staple recipe in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenlawn, New York, USA
Living In: Canoga Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I didn't have high hopes for this, but it actually was pretty good. I do agree that it's a little bland--even after I upped the paprika to 2 tsp. I found that I should have sauteed the onions a little longer than 10 minutes, but if you are good at doing a fine dice (I'm not), then 10 minutes might be fine. Keep a careful eye on the potatoes, carrots and celery while boiling, so the potatoes don't get too mushy. (And try to dice the carrots small so they cook through.) I used white potatoes, which worked well. I think this might benefit from substituting chicken or vegetable broth for the water. I added a European seasoning called Vegeta that I like, and that perked the soup right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This was easy and creamy, but really lacked flavor. After making this today, I had to add a lot more seasonings to give it any flavor. The 4 stars are based on the changes I made after following the recipe. I appreciate the ease of this recipe, but there are other recipes on AR with much more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BroncosFan
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Yummyy!! The recipe is great. Substituted milk for cream and turned out perfect (just use less water and more milk).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
My children love this recipe. I use fat free half and half to cut calories and sprinkle with grated cheese. I have taken it to work for soup day. It was a hit. I have shared the recipe with family and friends and they have all loved it as much as I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
A hearty, filling vegetarian stew that I have made several times. I usually use whole milk rather than cream since that is what I have on hand. Like others have mentioned, I find that it needs more spice to make it flavorful enough, so I generously double the paprika and am heavy handed with the black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Delicious and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
very creamy and tasty! I just couldn't stop thinking about the amount of carbs and calories though. It has a wonderful flavor if you are not too concerned about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temperance, Michigan, USA
Living In: Loomis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States