Creamy Veggie Potato Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Delicious! Took a bit longer than 30 minutes for prep, but came it perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Just like other reviews, I doubled the paprika and salt. I also added minced garlic in with the onions. Topped with sharp cheddar and served with sour dough. It was a hit with my family of 6. Even the 5-year-old gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizclemetson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I took it to church potluck and everyone like it. However, I did make some changes, I added 3 cloves of garlic and added about 2 tablespoons of cilantro. I also make it a little more soupy by adding 1/2 to 1/4 cups of the reserved water at a time. At the end I pureed some of the potatoes and a couple of carrot pieces (not too many carrots though because it would change the color of the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisa
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Very good altho a little heavy on the pepper. I was surprised that it had as much flavor as it did since it doesn't use broth. It would be good w/ham also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I changed my soup up with vegetable broth, whole milk, a tad of whipping cream, and a little corn starch. I also added in broccoli and cheddar cheese. My potatoes were red potatoes and I diced them up small. I also like many others added in more salt, pepper, and paprika. It came out delicious paired with bread bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Good base recipe. I upped the flavors by substituting vegetable broth for half the water; cooking onions with carrots, celery and garlic; and included extra black pepper, a dash of cayenne pepper and a few tablespoons of dried thyme. I skipped the cream altogether because one of my dinner guests is dairy free; instead, I substituted the reserved cooking liquid from boiling the potatoes. The stew turned out thick, flavorful, and all my guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Made this stew tonight and it was delicious! I added about 1/8 tsp. of minced garlic and 1/4 tsp of seasoning salt just to up the flavor factor. This one is definitely going to become a staple for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Good basic potato stew recipe. I didn't have paprika, but I added some sage to the spice mixture. Also added a little soy sauce while the onions sauteed and then veggie crumbles for extra protein. It turned out great! My kids loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
It's a pretty basic potato soup, all the essentials are there but there just isn't enough flavor for my tastes. I'd add plenty of garlic to this when cooking the onions, and i'd double the amount of black pepper. It's good if you're just learning to make soup (especially cream based ones), but there are better potato soups out there with lots more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This was a perfect "starter" soup recipe. Today was the first time I've ever made soup (ever) and this was a great way to start. I used mushrooms instead of celery, used less butter, didn't use any paprika, and instead of heavy cream I used whole milk. When I fried the onion and mushrooms, I also used oregano and a generic "spaghetti" spice blend. I also didn't use any water in the soup. The result was fantastic! I'm keeping this recipie to make again. It was soooo good, and just what I needed to warm my family up on a cold day. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bride of thor

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States