Creamy Veggie Potato Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
I really liked this, but I really changed the seasoning; I think had I made this as written, it would have been impossibly bland. I cut the recipe in half, btw. I left the skin on the potatoes, I used half and half instead of cream, and I used about four stalks of celery. For seasoning, I put in 1 Tbsp basil, 1-1/2 tsp pepper, 3/4 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp ground chipotle pepper, 1 tsp paprika, and 1/2 tsp celery seed. At the end, I stirred it fairly roughly, smooshing some of the potatoes, which really helped thicken the stew. While I'd probably only rate this two or three stars as written, because I'd imagine the first adjective that would come to mind would be "tasteless," I'll give it five stars with my additional seasoning. The basil and pepper combined to make a taste explosion. I will definitely make this again! Next time, I think I might grate some colby cheese to sprinkle on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fugue78

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Delicious! Took a bit longer than 30 minutes for prep, but came it perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Just like other reviews, I doubled the paprika and salt. I also added minced garlic in with the onions. Topped with sharp cheddar and served with sour dough. It was a hit with my family of 6. Even the 5-year-old gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizclemetson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I took it to church potluck and everyone like it. However, I did make some changes, I added 3 cloves of garlic and added about 2 tablespoons of cilantro. I also make it a little more soupy by adding 1/2 to 1/4 cups of the reserved water at a time. At the end I pureed some of the potatoes and a couple of carrot pieces (not too many carrots though because it would change the color of the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisa
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Very good altho a little heavy on the pepper. I was surprised that it had as much flavor as it did since it doesn't use broth. It would be good w/ham also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I changed my soup up with vegetable broth, whole milk, a tad of whipping cream, and a little corn starch. I also added in broccoli and cheddar cheese. My potatoes were red potatoes and I diced them up small. I also like many others added in more salt, pepper, and paprika. It came out delicious paired with bread bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Good base recipe. I upped the flavors by substituting vegetable broth for half the water; cooking onions with carrots, celery and garlic; and included extra black pepper, a dash of cayenne pepper and a few tablespoons of dried thyme. I skipped the cream altogether because one of my dinner guests is dairy free; instead, I substituted the reserved cooking liquid from boiling the potatoes. The stew turned out thick, flavorful, and all my guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Made this stew tonight and it was delicious! I added about 1/8 tsp. of minced garlic and 1/4 tsp of seasoning salt just to up the flavor factor. This one is definitely going to become a staple for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Good basic potato stew recipe. I didn't have paprika, but I added some sage to the spice mixture. Also added a little soy sauce while the onions sauteed and then veggie crumbles for extra protein. It turned out great! My kids loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
It's a pretty basic potato soup, all the essentials are there but there just isn't enough flavor for my tastes. I'd add plenty of garlic to this when cooking the onions, and i'd double the amount of black pepper. It's good if you're just learning to make soup (especially cream based ones), but there are better potato soups out there with lots more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States