Creamy Veggie Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2001
This recipe was a bit spicier than I had anticipated. Overall it went over well, but was a bit much for some people's tastes. One might consider using just a bit less cayenne pepper. Otherwise a fun recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2001
This was a big hit at a fondue party. I made it twice and played around with the cheeses a little. I preferred it with less cheddar cheese. I also dipped cooked chicken and potatoes in it which was delicious. Don't be afraid of the spices, they really add to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
was good but for some reason turned out somewhat chalky or starchy, probably something I did. I substituted the spinach for salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
I used this recipe for a party. It was wonderful! Everyone loved it. We even made more the next day. It's fun to try with different add-ins like artichoke hearts & salsa. Very fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
GREAT recipe! Be careful of the order you mix things: the recipe says to mix, "milk, white wine, etc" but if you actually put milk and white wine in the pot one after another, the milk will curdle. I simmered the white wine first, then mixed in the solid cheeses, then the cream cheese, and finally, once it was all melted together, the milk. It seemed to work pretty well that way, of course, make sure you have all your ingredients ready because everything melts pretty quickly. Also, even after adding the milk I thought it was pretty thick, so I used extra spinach for the liquid. That was fine-- it tasted delicious. My guests loved it and the spiciness was in no way overbearing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
242 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
This is one of the best fondue recipes I've ever made or tasted. I would advise to warm the wine, add cheeses and spices then add the milk last so as to not curdle with the wine. It's great left over too! Just stir in a little milk. I haven't tried it, but I bet it would be a great macaroni and cheese dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
A new favorite! This was great with veggies bread, apples and grapes. It lasted the evening without getting clumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2003
This was a hit at my party! It didn't clump up or dry out, my husband was snacking on it after all my guests left. I will definitely be serving this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
Good flavor, although a little spicy (I would omit some of the cayanne). Never got to serve it at the party because the sterno was to hot and burned it. Oh well, it tasted pretty good before being burned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2003
I (and everyone at my fondue party) loved this excellent recipe. I made it over a year ago and people are still raving and asking for it, so here I am again today getting ready to make it again.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States