Creamy Veggie Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Served this for NY's Eve 2009/10 and it was such a hit -- delicious! I will cut down on the cayenne next time because the one I have is very hot (therapeutic or something) and also b/c I want my three-year-old daughter to be able to enjoy this, and I think she found it too spicy last time (though we grown-ups liked it fine). I also followed Wonder Wanda's advice about heating the wine first, next adding the cheeses, and then adding the milk last to prevent the milk from curdling, and that worked well; thanks for the help Wonder Wanda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wood River, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This fondue was wonderful. 4 stars instead of 5 since I added a jar of artichoke hearts, lessened the amount of cayenne pepper, added some lemon juice, and increased the amount of wine. Per the suggestions of other reviewers, I simmered minced garlic cloves and part of a (Somerset Sweet) onion in the wine first. Then I added the cheeses and milk and proceeded with the recipe. Completely awesome with broccoli and pumpernickel bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Somerset, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Huge hit with my family!! So, so easy and yummy. Plus - it's economical-not requiring expensive cheeses. I used a little less cayenne and garlic powder (thinking of the kids).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Very good recipe- The only tweek I made was as the other reviewer suggested and added the milk last. I did not put as much cayenne in (only 1/4 tsp) as I was feeding young kids. The kids loved this and my 3 yr was eating his broccoli like crazy- Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
So good! I've made this several times now, and everyone has loved it. I leave out the spinach (although I think it would be wonderful!) because my husband is not a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Great fondue! I dipped peppers, broccoli, veggie meatballs, veggie sausage, and wheat ciabatta bread into this. The only thing I had to change was the amount of liquids (milk & wine). I had to add more gradually as the cheese melted otherwise it wouldve been a huge cheese ball. I used a pinot grigio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKY R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
This recipe turned out fantastically. I used apple cider instead of wine and left out the onions and spinach (which I can't have due to medical reasons) and it still tasted great. I mixed everything together and put it in the fondue pot over low-medium heat. This worked out well, nothing burned and the cheese was smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ettare

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
I'm actually surprised this one got such good reviews. I halved the recipe and I'm REALLY glad I did- less food to waste that way. The cayenne pepper completely took over the flavor of this. I used all organic ingredients. I couldn't eat more than a little of it- all I tasted was the burn of cayenne, no cheese, no other flavor. The people eating with me felt the same way. I would -not- recommend this recipe with the current proportions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This was very good. My first time doing fondue and all my guest loved it. The pan was empty. Wiped clean. I used cut up italian bread, broccoli, green and red pepper. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Garden Veggie Pizza Squares

Baked crescent roll dough is topped with cream cheese and crunchy vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States