Creamy Veggie Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Made this for Valentines Day and everyone loved it. I didn't have any spinach on hand so I omitted that, also added the wine then cheese and milk last. Served with fresh french bread and veggies- I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamanthaMarie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
So good, everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toby

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This was voted "best fondue" at our last fondue night. I didn't have monterey so I used Bergenost - I think it made it even better! Omitted the green onions for the same reason, and added Parmesan and garlic powder for extra flavor. I agree with the other reviewers - MILK LAST!! And toss any freshly-grated cheese in a tablespoon of flour to help thicken the fondue without making it lumpy. Thanks Al for the great recipe! Couldn't have impressed without you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Served with fresh bread and fresh veggies and was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I wanted something different than the typical swiss cheese fondue and found this recipe. I wasn't sure about adding the spinach and onions, but it was delish! I did modify the recipe a bit. I started with 1 cup of milk in my fondu pot at 250 degrees and added 4 fresh cloves of finely minced garlic. I let that reach a boil and cooked the garlic slightly. I added the cream cheese first and used a whisk to incorporate with the milk. I then slowly added the cheddar and Monterey Jack cheese, stirring with a spoon, using a figure eight to incorporate. I then added 1/4 cup defrosted and squeezed spinach, 1 cup of chopped green onions, 1 t. cayenne, 1/2 t. garlic powder, 1 t. pepper and 1 teaspoon fresh dijon mustard. I warmed 1/4 cup of Pinot Grigio in the microwave and added slowly. Reduced the heat to "warm" on my fondue pot. It was a very good consistency but thickened as the night progressed so I added more warm milk and/or warm wine when needed. Served with grilled baby bellas (brushed with olive oil, salt, pepper and garlic powder), baked potato wedges (brushed with olive oil, salt, pepper and garlic powder) and cubes of fresh, french bread. I will definitly make this again. Not too spicy, but I suggest adding the cayenne pepper little by little if you are sensitive to spicy foods as some cayenne peppers are hotter than others. My husband doesn't like really spicey food but he liked this recipe a lot, as did I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
My husband wouldn't eat it, at all, and I didn't really care for it too much. I believe it was the combination of cheeses with the wine -- beer might be a better choice. On the plus side, the consistency was thin, but okay, and it was quite simple to make. I don't think I'll make this again or, if I do, will change the wine to beer and leave out the Jack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe! Use a dry or semi-dry wine, either Swiss Fendant, Sauvignon Blanc or California Riesling. These help the proteins in the cheese melt more smoothly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
amazing!!!!!!!! the best recipe i have ever made!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
very good. made just as instructed, added the milk at the very end. add all the spices, dont be scared!!! fondue was good with celery, french bread, and granny smith apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by strawberishimmer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
This veggie dip was great! I'm very sensitive to spicy foods but this had just enough kick to keep everyone coming back. I mixed them milk in after the cheeses like someone suggested and then when all was done, I put it in my small crockpot. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Garden Veggie Pizza Squares

Baked crescent roll dough is topped with cream cheese and crunchy vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States