Creamy Veggie Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I made this exactly as the recipe calls for and it turned out very well. I faced the problem of cooking with a relative who was making a beef fondue who had her timing off, so I had to leave this over the heat for MUCH longer than expected. The oil in the cheese started to seperate so I had to keep stirring and stirring it...just a heads up that nothing is wrong with the recipe, it's GREAT but be sure you make it just before it's time to serve! It was all gone by the end of the evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BluJaysGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This was very good! I don't like swiss cheese, so I really wanted to find a good basic cheese fondue recipe. I made this recipe exactly except I ommitted the spinach and green onions. Everyone raved about it! I served with bread and apples. If you're looking for an easy, simple cheese fondue, look no further!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
Really good! I left out the spinach, and thought I'd need more milk, but it was the perfect texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
I would give this a 5 star if it weren't for the grainy-ness of the fondue. The flavor alone was WONDERFUL and I most enjoyed it with cauliflower. I did a quick blanch of my veggies (brocolli, cauliflower, and carrots) and also served shrimp and cheese straws with the fondue. After making twice I would DEFINATELY add more milk, at least a cup, as it does GREATLY thicken (to the point where I had to use a small ice cream scoop to serve it, both times). I also tried the lemon trick the first time, but not the second time and I noticed NO difference in 'grainy'-ness. Aside from that I made no changes. The cayenne as others have said is not at all hot on your tongue, yet I did notice that it started to get hot on my lips after a period of time (they were chapped)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Made it exactly to the recipe. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
excellent - received raves from my family. I parboiled the veggies before dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This is one of my favorite recipes I've found on All Recipes. This is a great fondue for people not fond of the traditional Swiss cheese flavor. I omit the onions and spinach and I've recently replaced the wine with beer since I was out of wine the last time I made this. Everyone asks for the recipe and it couldn't be more simple. It reminds me of the Beer Cheese fondue at the Melting Pot restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
Simple recipe, great taste!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
Made this for a group of 10 adutls for a fondue party. I had another cheese fondue also (the kind you buy already made in the gourmet cheese section of grocery), but this one was the hit!! I made a few changes though: I did not use any spinach or green onion. I did add some minced onion (about 1 tsp), and used Grey Poupon mustard in place of the dry mustard (about 1 tsp). I also added lemon juice (liberally) during the melting phase to help with the stringingness-totally helped! I also added my milk last which other reviewers had suggested-think this is key! My party LOVED this and couldn't get enough-I will be using this recipe instead of wasting my money on the already made stuff from now on! I also used a Sauvigon Blanc wine-think that helped with the flavor too. Just make sure when you are heating this on the stove to go slow and low. When we transferred it to the fondue pot, it stayed nice & creamy-although it was disappearing pretty fast! Thanks so much for this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
My friends and I have enjoyed fondue for years, and this is the best recipe I've found yet! I love the addition of the green onions and the spinach. I have no changes to offer; as is, this recipe is perfect! We loved it with slightly steamed broccoli, asparagus, and french bread. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Garden Veggie Pizza Squares

Baked crescent roll dough is topped with cream cheese and crunchy vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States