Creamy Veggie Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Served this for NY's Eve 2009/10 and it was such a hit -- delicious! I will cut down on the cayenne next time because the one I have is very hot (therapeutic or something) and also b/c I want my three-year-old daughter to be able to enjoy this, and I think she found it too spicy last time (though we grown-ups liked it fine). I also followed Wonder Wanda's advice about heating the wine first, next adding the cheeses, and then adding the milk last to prevent the milk from curdling, and that worked well; thanks for the help Wonder Wanda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wood River, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This fondue was wonderful. 4 stars instead of 5 since I added a jar of artichoke hearts, lessened the amount of cayenne pepper, added some lemon juice, and increased the amount of wine. Per the suggestions of other reviewers, I simmered minced garlic cloves and part of a (Somerset Sweet) onion in the wine first. Then I added the cheeses and milk and proceeded with the recipe. Completely awesome with broccoli and pumpernickel bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Somerset, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Huge hit with my family!! So, so easy and yummy. Plus - it's economical-not requiring expensive cheeses. I used a little less cayenne and garlic powder (thinking of the kids).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Very good recipe- The only tweek I made was as the other reviewer suggested and added the milk last. I did not put as much cayenne in (only 1/4 tsp) as I was feeding young kids. The kids loved this and my 3 yr was eating his broccoli like crazy- Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
So good! I've made this several times now, and everyone has loved it. I leave out the spinach (although I think it would be wonderful!) because my husband is not a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Great fondue! I dipped peppers, broccoli, veggie meatballs, veggie sausage, and wheat ciabatta bread into this. The only thing I had to change was the amount of liquids (milk & wine). I had to add more gradually as the cheese melted otherwise it wouldve been a huge cheese ball. I used a pinot grigio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKY M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
This recipe turned out fantastically. I used apple cider instead of wine and left out the onions and spinach (which I can't have due to medical reasons) and it still tasted great. I mixed everything together and put it in the fondue pot over low-medium heat. This worked out well, nothing burned and the cheese was smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ettare

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
I'm actually surprised this one got such good reviews. I halved the recipe and I'm REALLY glad I did- less food to waste that way. The cayenne pepper completely took over the flavor of this. I used all organic ingredients. I couldn't eat more than a little of it- all I tasted was the burn of cayenne, no cheese, no other flavor. The people eating with me felt the same way. I would -not- recommend this recipe with the current proportions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This was very good. My first time doing fondue and all my guest loved it. The pan was empty. Wiped clean. I used cut up italian bread, broccoli, green and red pepper. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States