Creamy Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
MY FAVORITE SOUP. I SERVED IT TO MY BOOK CLUB AND THEY ALL WANTED THIS RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan Marion

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williamstown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
This was pretty bland. We had to add salt and pepper at the table, and will try adding some shredded cheddar to the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
First of all, let me say that this was a DELICIOUS soup -- the spices were perfect and yummy. But since people had issues with the broccoli & zucchini, I decided to add them only at the last hour of cooking. This worked well for the zucchini, but not the broccoli, which turned a sickly color. So I think next time (and there will be a next time!) I will just eliminate the broccoli and add another zucchini. Thanks for this recipe, Corwynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Much tastier and substantive than I expected. I replaced teh potatoes with 2 medium sweet potatoes. It was very nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I made some adjustments and it turned out fine for us. I didn't use the white potatoes. Shredded one sweet potato and diced the other 2. I used 2t cumin, the recc amt of celery seed (would up it next time), used some coriander, and some curry. IMO, it still needed a lot of flavor. I cooked it at 3hrs on High and then an additional 30 minutes more after the addition to the milk. I think that the 8-10 hours on Low is WAY too long, especially for the broccoli, which was most likely the contributing factor to the bitterness that people were complaining about. I think that 3 hrs MAX on High should be plenty. I'll try it one more time because it was easy enough to make (prep took 20 minutes from start to finish) and nutritious with the variety of vegetables, but it wasn't one of DH's favorites. Picky 3yo DD ate it all, though, which warrants 4 stars for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
NEVER cook zucchini and such veggies for so long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Farrah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Excellent - even hubby who hates veggies loved this one! The sweet potatoes were so flavorful. I've shared this with everyone I know!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I cubed the potato instead of shredding it. I also added other veggies to the soup and when I pureed it, I left some veggies whole. I found this soup tasted better the second day. Overall, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
I loved this but I made so many changes that I had to give it 4 stars. I only used the zucchini and sweet potato (omitted broccoli which didn't sound good and russet potatoes which I was out of). I doubled the cumin and shedded one of the sweet potatoes. I also used organic begetable broth instead of chicken. I used celery salt and a pinch of tumeric and coriander. I only added 1/2 cup milk and some fillini soup pasta. It was a hit and was very much like many of the soups we had in Jamaica and the Caribbean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julie a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsville, New York, USA
Living In: Lewiston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
This recipe tasted terrible! Drowning it in salt didn't help the taste one bit! I don't know if it's that I left the zucchini skin on or what but it was very bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States