Creamy Vegetable Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
for a change i'll do this recipe then add seafood into it too very nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Oh my! I made this for myself when I came down with a cold. I improvised with the ingredients I had on hand and added chicken to the broth while cooking the vegetables. I used skim milk with the full amount of cornstarch/water and it came out perfect. Super comforting! Thank you Amy Brumfield for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
This tastes like diet food. It reminded me of the soup from the cabbage soup diet (only "creamy" vegetable instead of cabbage). Not creamy at all. Bland. We will eat all the leftovers only because we are trying to be healthy & I can't waste food. Two stars because it was cheap to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cosmicfuzz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I made this with chicken also and it was great I use fat free half and half and added a little butter it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Harroll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
i absolutely love this recipe. its easy to manipulate and goes great with some home made bread. i add about a teaspoon of yellow curry powder and some chili powder plus a diced up red pepper. delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Cooked this recipe as written and tasted a bit bland after a taste-test, so added lots of garlic and onion powder and a bit more salt while still simmering. My mom loved this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
This chowder is excellent! I am always looking for low-fat creamy soups, and this really hit the spot! After reading some of the reviews, I made the following changes.. I added 2 cloves of minced garlic to the onions. I also put in 2 cups of milk and 1 cup of fat free half-and-half (instead of the 3 cups of milk). I also added in two cooked boneless chicken breasts that were shredded and a can of creamed corn at the end to thicken it up. So creamy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This was so good! Really simple and straightforward. I added a little more salt and pepper and a can of white beans at the last minute to make it a complete meal. Will absolutely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
this is a very tasty soup but the name is a little misleading - there isn't anything creamy about this soup unless you make it with milk and a roux to start (which i will do next time i make it!!) however the ranch dressing mix has a great flavor to it, without actually tasting like ranch dressing, if that makes sense. i added lots of other veggies (peas, broccoli, cauliflower, corn) and topped each bowl with some greated parm. i think a healthy amount of black pepper is a must, too. was a great warm-up on an early chilly night here in the northeast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States