Creamy Vegetable Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I made this recipe exactly the way stated. It was very watery. I think the water amount is wrong. Had great flavor though. Adjust water and it'll be great. Recipe says it serves 6-7, made with 2 quarts of water it would've served close to 20. I used flour to thicken it a bit. I'll use this recipe again but I will cut the water amount in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
I make this recipe ALL THE TIME! Perhaps the other reviewer added to much water, but it isn't too watery with 2 quarts of water. Just be careful when melting the Velvetta to stir often, or the cheese will stick and burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I made this soup and found the thickness to be fine. I loved it and will definatly make it again! I didn't think it was too watery and I did Add more potatoes and carrots, and used a can of mixed veggies! Delicious soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I make this recipe all the time, instead of using water, I use 4 cups of chicken broth. Lots of flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
i only gave 4 stars because i made some changes, but i'm sure if i'd followed it exactly it would have been great too! i cut the recipe in half for starters, but because of the runny comment, i only used about 3/4 of a qt and used vegetable broth instead of water. i also used cream of celery instead of cream of chicken, and i omitted the cheese because i didn't have any on hand. It came out Wonderful! it was exactly the creamy vegetable soup i was looking for! with the changes, a great vegetarian soup! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pinon Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
This turned out great. It was too rich for some of my kids but the one's that liked it took leftovers for the next two days as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr. Wilder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garden Valley, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This was a great recipe. After reading other reviews, I halved the recipe and it still made a big pot. I also doubled the potatoes, used broth instead of water, added 1 cup of chopped carrots, and 2 cups of pulled, cooked chicken. I also added salt and pepper to taste. My husband and I thought it was really good. My 2 year old liked it, too. I will definitely make this again. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This was good but not incredible. I added 1/4 cup Picante Sauce for more pizzazz. Also did NOT use 2 quarts of water. Instead I used 1 can of chicken broth. The finished soup a tad was too salty for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Best soup EVER! Creamy, cheesy, yummy. I did like everyone else and added two cups of water, 2 cups water instead of the 2 quarts of water. There was def enough to feed 7-8 people. Our family of 5 had 2nds and hubby has enough to take for lunch tomorrow :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red_Hott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I think maybe it should be 3 stars but since I made some changes maybe it was my fault. I liked this but it was a little to cream of chickeny. I put in one can of chicken broth and one can of water so maybe you do need the other quart of water. I think I wanted a cheeser soup maybe if you replaced one of the cans of cream of chicken with cheddar cheese soup? My husband really liked it so maybe it was just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States