Creamy Vegan Hot Cocoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Very tasty and quite chocolaty! I adjusted the amount of sugar by putting in 1 and a half tablespoons of sugar! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I had a little leftover coconut cream and found this recipe on the search button. This is definitely not creamy! I actually thought it was very watery and I only added 1/2 the water suggested. Only subtitute I made was using a packet of Truvia for the sugar. I can't imagine the regular sugar would have changed the consistency that much. I suppose, this would be fine if one couldn't have milk, but it's still mediocre tasting. The calories are super high too, even with using a sugar subtitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Although this recipe does not taste exactly like the hot chocolate most of us are used to, it is so good! I'm trying to stay off milk products because they give me eczema. It is blizzarding out today and I really wanted some hot cocoa. This did the trick! Note, I substituted nutmeg for cinnamon, and maple syrup for sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer8
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I used the original recipe as a starting point, i.e., coconut milk. Used leftover 7 oz organic coconut milk (from a can) and mixed in 2 cups regular Silk soy milk, 2 1/2 tablespoons Navitas cacao powder, 4 packets Sugar in the Raw turbinado sugar, 2 dashes cinnamon and 1 teaspoon vanilla extract. It was delish! My husband is still talking about it an hour later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Great idea. I thought about this after reading up on the Primal Blueprint, glad I found the recipe! I'm off dairy and used it with Starbuck's mocha powder I had. I just used it and the water and c. milk. Tasted great, just a little different consistency...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I found a can of coconut milk in my pantry and went searching for a recipe this morning and came up with this one. I made four servings of this recipe. I didn't make mine in the mug, I actually made it on the stovetop. This came together nicely and made a tasty cocoa. Next time, I'd definetely increase the cocoa amount and use milk in place of the water for a creamier cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
As a person who cannot have dairy, this was quite a find.....and a delicious one at that! The combination of the vanilla and coconut is a perfect blend. Slighty sweet, but a great twist on traditional hot chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3Loves2Bake<3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Thank you Thank you Thank you!!! I have been dying for some good hot cocoa that is dairy free. The mixes that I found at the specialty stores just didn't come close to the regular dairy cocoa. But this was Heaven in a cup for me :) It's freezing cold outside and it's so nice to finally be able to sit down with some good hot cocoa!!! I didn't have any canned coconut milk on hand but I did have the So Delicious Coconut milk and it was still super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This turned out great. I did make a few modifications (as any good chef might). Added cayenne pepper into the mix (to taste) and sea salt. I did not use as much sugar as the recipe called for, maybe 2 tbsp. I enjoy my hot cocoa spicy and a little salty, the sugar just helps to round out the other two flavors. thanks for posting the recipe. never thought of using coconut milk and it it's a great alternative for those of us trying to steer clear of dairy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Like a mounds bar in a cup! If I could give this more stars I would! I'm not a vegan, but was looking for something that I could have in my lower carb and sugar plan. This is perfect! It's rich and creamy and a perfect blend of flavors. I substituted Truvia for the sugar (I used 2 pkts.) and just a dash of sea salt to enhance the flavor, but other than that followed the recipe. I can actually have a couple of cups of this a day without feeling guilty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States