Creamy Vegan Hot Cocoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
My husband is vegan and I make him hot chocolate and just usually substitute soy or rice milk for "regular" milk but I decided to try this as we love coconut milk recipes. We both LOVED it! Not too sweet but sweet enough, same for the chocolatyness. I just ran out of regular cocoa so I used Hershey's Special Dark instead. It turned out lovely! Thanks for sharing a delicious Vegan version of hot cocoa!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
It definitely didn't taste exactly like real hot cocoa, nor was it very creamy, but I have to say it was tasty nonetheless. I might substitute the water for some soy milk or add more coconut milk next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JPMJ
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I am not vegan; I had leftover coconut milk from another recipe and stumbled across this one looking for ways to use it up. I made it exactly as the recipe stated. I found it rather sweet-- likely I could have doubled the water and made it into two servings. It's got quite a high fat and sugar content (although probably comparable to regular hot chocolate) so it is definitely a beverage to drink as an occasional treat. Aside from the too-sweetness I liked the flavour; I will probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPMJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This turned out great. I did make a few modifications (as any good chef might). Added cayenne pepper into the mix (to taste) and sea salt. I did not use as much sugar as the recipe called for, maybe 2 tbsp. I enjoy my hot cocoa spicy and a little salty, the sugar just helps to round out the other two flavors. thanks for posting the recipe. never thought of using coconut milk and it it's a great alternative for those of us trying to steer clear of dairy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I found a can of coconut milk in my pantry and went searching for a recipe this morning and came up with this one. I made four servings of this recipe. I didn't make mine in the mug, I actually made it on the stovetop. This came together nicely and made a tasty cocoa. Next time, I'd definetely increase the cocoa amount and use milk in place of the water for a creamier cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Like a mounds bar in a cup! If I could give this more stars I would! I'm not a vegan, but was looking for something that I could have in my lower carb and sugar plan. This is perfect! It's rich and creamy and a perfect blend of flavors. I substituted Truvia for the sugar (I used 2 pkts.) and just a dash of sea salt to enhance the flavor, but other than that followed the recipe. I can actually have a couple of cups of this a day without feeling guilty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
This was pretty good - I reduced the sugar by half and used light coconut milk. The result was tasty but seemed a little watered down - maybe a regular coconut milk would have helped make it "creamier". I know I'll make this again, but would probably use soy milk instead of water (or even regular milk, since we are not vegan), but I must say the subtle coconut, vanilla and cinnamon flavors work very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
It smelled fantastic, but the taste was just okay. I may try again and play with the ingredient amounts - less cinnamon and sugar, and more coconut milk next time. It has potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Thank you Thank you Thank you!!! I have been dying for some good hot cocoa that is dairy free. The mixes that I found at the specialty stores just didn't come close to the regular dairy cocoa. But this was Heaven in a cup for me :) It's freezing cold outside and it's so nice to finally be able to sit down with some good hot cocoa!!! I didn't have any canned coconut milk on hand but I did have the So Delicious Coconut milk and it was still super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Very delicious and it's a convenient recipe to have for the times I'm out of non-dairy milks. I added a little cinnamon schnapps for a kick. I will make this again but when I have non-dairy milk around, I will use it instead of water for the extra vitamins. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States