Creamy Vegan Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
The chowder itself was good but 1 teaspoon of pepper was way too much. I would love to make this recipe again with just a pinch of pepper. It was too spicy for my kids to eat. I will also add potatoes next time as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This was super tasty! I used unsweetened almond milk instead of soy milk and I also added 2 tbsp butter to cut the pepper (there was a bit too much pepper for my liking). I also used 1 can kernel corn and 1 can of creamed corn instead of ears as it was what I had on hand. Next time I will add potatoes for more heartiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I used more than a tablespoon of corn starch to thicken. I think using potatoes will also thicken the soup. Instead of celery, I used frozen broccoli which I prefer. I kept the heat @ medium while thickening as it took too long in low heat and standing by the stove to constantly stir is hard on the legs! I added more salt to taste. I will take it to church potluck; curious if it will be a "winner."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
when i added the first cup of soymilk to the vegetables it curdled on the top and i thought it was ruined but i saved it by making a white sauce with the remaining cup of soymilk. then i mixed them together and it combined beautifully. I omitted the garlic powder and added potatos, as suggested in the reviews. it turned out really delicious with the slight recipe change. next time i will definitely make a separate white sauce and add it when the veges are cooked. awesome recipe. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I followed the recipe and it was a bit watery, not too creamy. So, I added a can of corn and added 4 small cooked potatoes. Then, I blended half the soup and added it back into the pot. It was good after the changes. I definitely recommend adding potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Very good, however if your not vegan try adding some bacon or for those that are vegan you could add some facon. Adds alittle more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb
Home Town: Philipsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
A good base for vegan corn chowder; I made mine gluten-free. I made several adjustments: 1) I doubled the amount of corn. 2) I cut the raw kernels from the corn cobs, then brought water and cobs to a boil while I choppped up the other veggies. Essentially, that makes a corn broth and helps sweeten the the soup--that's where I took my 2 1/2 cups water for the soup. I took out the corn cobs before I added the water to the veggies! 3) I added 2 small potatoes, finely chopped, to the celery and onion skillet mix. Because I didn't use the flour, I needed something else to thicken the soup--finely chopped potatoes worked great (a 1/4 c. of instant mashed potatoes would work, too) 4) I garnished with fresh cilantro and sliced green onions. I would make it again if I had many ears of corn to use up--not sure it would be as good with frozen corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Awesome dish!! Very healthy alternative to the usual. This soup is very filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Delicious. I used veggie stock instead of water and bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Loved this. I took the suggestions from some of the other reviewers and made a couple modifications. I added 1/2 red pepper, about 1 C mushrooms (both chopped), 2 more cups of corn, 2 more cups of water. I used vegetable base rather than bouillon (and more of it since I added more water) and used mashed potato flakes instead of flour. It wasn't SUPER thick like some chowders but it was thick enough for my taste. I served this to a chowder loving, non-vegan friend of mine and she loved it too! Very very good - and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States