Creamy Vegan Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
When I first read this recipe I thought to myself, "What? No potatoes?" As a new vegan I find it important that meals are as hearty and satisfying as possible. So, with such a promising start, I eagerly set to work in the kitchen. I pretty much followed the recipe exactly except after sauteeing all the veggies I added 2 cups veggie broth along w/ th potatoes and simmered that until they were fork tender. I then added 1 cup frozen corn and 1 can cream style corn and the rest of the spices. (I however, did not add the garlic clove.) It was delicious! 5*****'s after changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Dalton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Wilton, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
Not bad. Spices are well blended. I did do something differently. I added more corn, (because it didn't look like there was enough for my tastes) and I used vegetable base instead of boullion. My soup never did thicken up so I used a trick my hubby learned in culinary art school. I added 1/2 cup of mashed potato flakes. Not bad. Good on a cold day like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunnySunny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I try to follow recipes but it's so hard to do as I'm told. I added broccoli and cauliflower chopped very small at the same time as the carrots. Then I diced 2 red potatoes, cooked them separately and blended them slightly before adding them. As far as spices are concerned, I added some cayenne and bay leaves plus a dash or two of red wine vinegar for balance. The result was very very yummy and I didn't really need flour thanks to the potatoes. My b/f and I are veggie so I'll add some good bread and wine; It's dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Absolutely amazing!! I'm not a Vegan, but was invited on a "fast" with my church that prohibited foods that weren't on a Vegan diet. It was really hard, but this recipe really squashed a lot of those cravings I had for other foods. I used soy milk, and unless I were to taste chowders side by side, I could NOT tell that it used soy milk (and I don't even LIKE soy milk!). I strongly recommend this recipe to anyone, Vegan or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
This recipe was really great especially considering how low calorie it is. I changed the veggies according to our tastes, left out the celery and added red bell pepper mushrooms and sweet potatoes. The one thing that nobody liked was the amount of black pepper. Next time I will use half or even a quarter the amount and let each person add pepper according to their own tastes. I also added a little potato flakes at the end to thicken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This recipe is amazing! I did make a couple of changes: one extra tablespoon of flour and one less cup of water. It tastes wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeborahVictoria
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This was a great recipe! I ended up adding more flour until I reached the desired consistancy and added a can of cream corn. Also, I added bay leaves and two medium sized potatoes. Was the most delicious corn chowder I have ever tasted and the fact that I used soy milk made it all the better! Definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
This was so yummy! I've just became vegan about a month ago and I'm pretty much dragging my family along and this was something everyone enjoyed. When I make it again I will probably use less pepper, because it was quite spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANICOLE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Wimberley, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Not bad with added potato, potato flakes (to thicken), fresh chopped jalapeno, cayenne, worchestire sauce, and extra garlic & corn. I also blended the soup slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mezo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
I loved this recipe. It was so yummy! My husband liked it too. I found it a bit watery but when I make it again, will just add a little less. A great starter or main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States