Creamy Vegan Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
way better than i expected. i thought, however, that i'd be more creamy, but it didn't matter to me after i tasted it. i'm sure a tad bit more milk and/or flour would solve that. next time i think i might try a bit more vegetables to the mixture. i definitely ended up with more soup(broth) than i did vegetables. my wife liked it. so, i'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
As a recent convert to the Vegan lifestyle it has not been easy to replace many of the comfort foods that I was raised on. Corn Chowder (or Chowda in my house) has always been a favorite of mine and this recipe is wonderful. My non-vegan family members ate it up and were shocked to see me doing the same . . . they were surprised to find that it was animal friendly!! Thanks for this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This recipe is amazing! I did make a couple of changes: one extra tablespoon of flour and one less cup of water. It tastes wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeborahVictoria
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
This was okay, but I wasn't crazy about it. Didn't have the corn chowder flavour I was craving; pretty much just tastes like garlic and not much else. It's a decent soup but I'm still looking for a good corn chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
Amazingly good. I did change the recipe a bit though. I used less water (about a cup and a 3/4) and used corn flour instead of regular (added a tablespoon more or so of that as well). I also cooked it in a crock pot, towards the last hour (cooked it on high for 6) I added some instant potato flakes, as I found it too watery. I also added some more spices at that time. In the end a pretty simple recipe, but amazing results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
Tried this out, and based on the reviews, I cut the water down a bit, and added more flour. I also added potatoes in an attempt at creamy, but the result was more like corn soup. I also used rice milk instead of soy, so next time, I'll cut the water some more, and mash up the potatoes to get the creamy. However, this tasted fantastic, so there WILL be a next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
Not bad. Spices are well blended. I did do something differently. I added more corn, (because it didn't look like there was enough for my tastes) and I used vegetable base instead of boullion. My soup never did thicken up so I used a trick my hubby learned in culinary art school. I added 1/2 cup of mashed potato flakes. Not bad. Good on a cold day like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunnySunny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
Absolutely wonderful. I had to add a bit more flour though, as it would have been a little thin otherwise. Delicious, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Only OK. Not a strong corn flavor at all, the dominant flavor is garlic. If I don't find a better recipe, next time I'll cut the garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
i followed this recipe exactly. i was hoping it would have had a thicker consistency, but it still had a pretty ok flavor. my boyfriend liked it a lot more than i did. i'm not sure if i'd make it again. but thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States