Creamy Vegan Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Like the other reviewers have said, this is a good base recipe, and a few embellishments to your taste will knock it out of the park. I added 2 potatoes (bit more water needed to cook), 3 tbsp diced red bell pepper, a small can of green chiles; and cumin, paprika & cayenne for spice. Might try throwing in a few mushrooms next time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Good soup, not as creamy as I was expecting, but very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUMLUVS2COOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Walnutport, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
delicious! I added red potatoes and a can of creamed corn to the recipe. Sometimes, I add crushed red pepper if I want to make is spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Awesome. Way better than I thought it would be. Might add more corn in the future, maybe good with potatoes. Great for those on a a budget, made a batch for about $5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Truly amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
This recipe was really great especially considering how low calorie it is. I changed the veggies according to our tastes, left out the celery and added red bell pepper mushrooms and sweet potatoes. The one thing that nobody liked was the amount of black pepper. Next time I will use half or even a quarter the amount and let each person add pepper according to their own tastes. I also added a little potato flakes at the end to thicken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This was a great recipe! I ended up adding more flour until I reached the desired consistancy and added a can of cream corn. Also, I added bay leaves and two medium sized potatoes. Was the most delicious corn chowder I have ever tasted and the fact that I used soy milk made it all the better! Definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe very flavorful I added roasted sweet potatoes it was wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GeorgiaPeach2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thomasville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Overall, I really liked this chowder. I did make a couple changes per other reviewers suggestions, and would make a change or so myself after making it. One, I added a cup of creamed corn to the other corn, and would do that again. Two, I added some arrowroot powder in addition to the flour to help thicken it up. Also, I used almond milk instead of soy and it came out just fine. In addition I just did salt/pepper and garlic powder to taste and no garlic clove. And oh yeah, I used veg. broth 2 1/2 cups...and I added about one large potato. Here are the changes I would make next time. I thought it tasted pretty strongly of carrots, so I would halve them or omit. I might also add a little soy creamer to add some more body. Other than that, its great. Definitely add potatoes though, they really make the dish hearty enough for a meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Doubled the Carrots and Flour. Also added Corn Starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States