Creamy Vegan Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
It was pretty darned good. I also found I had to add more flour until the desired consistency was reached, but I accidentally added too much, so I put in 1.5 oz of bourbon to thin it back out--the perfect finisher. If you're not a hella vegan, try adding 1.5 oz of bacon-infused bourbon. Super nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: May 20, 2011
This was delicious! I'm always up for trying new things and this was perfect! Stirred the flour into a little water then poured into the soup just to be safe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Pretty good! It's a recipe you'll want to fiddle with to make to your tastes. I've added/substituted in various combinations: cayenne, paprika, chili flakes, dried chives, garlic chives, extra garlic, bell peppers, fresh spinach, celery salt, milk or evaporated milk and butter (not always vegan). Try finishing with Sriracha and cilantro. Try adding some prepared rice if you don't want it to be so corn-y. I made some homemade croutons with stale bread and those were AMAZING. As a half-time vegan, I LOVED substituting part of the soy milk for coconut milk. Hides that chalky flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Made quite a few modifications after reading the soup doesn't thicken so well and that there might not be enough corn. First, I used 2 cans of corn and 1 can of creamed corn. I only used 2 cups of water and 1 cup of unsweetened almond milk. I needed 2 T of flour in order to thicken in. Omitted the pepper and garlic powder (used a tad more real garlic instead). Was ok, but I'll look for a different recipe to try next time - definitely think potatoes would make a great addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenMV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Felton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This recipe is terrific! I have made this twice and it came out great both times. I prefer it with vegetable stock instead of the boullion. Also, make sure to use soy milk that does not contain vanilla unless you want sweet tasting chowder. A great addition (for extra flavor) to this was to add some finely chopped sauteed mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
My family never knew this was a vegan recipe. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Did not turn out like i had hoped. Constantly felt something was missing from this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meighan_d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This has been great everytime I've made it at our Buddhist center in NY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I loved this recipe. I made it exactly as is written; however, it didn't thicken up like I wanted it to, so I added arrowroot which really does the trick. Also, added a tablespoon of maple syrup as was suggested in another recipe I read. It'd delicious and with the addition of arrowroot, gluten free. Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Not bad with added potato, potato flakes (to thicken), fresh chopped jalapeno, cayenne, worchestire sauce, and extra garlic & corn. I also blended the soup slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mezo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States