Creamy Vegan Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Loved the soup with an additional ingredient. I added roasted long green chiles diced up and it really kicked it up. We really enjoy this soup on a cold night. Very comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Mimi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
My husband loved this soup and it was pretty simple to make. Will definitely be making again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
The pepper burn in this chowder is so bad that my lips are still hurting from the last bite and my eyes have tears in the corners. If you don't want to have people running for the faucet, reduce the black pepper amount by at least half. Also, definitely add potatoes like others suggested because it needs the bulk to feel more like a chowder than just a creamy vegetable soup. Finally, I just want to mention that it took about twice as much flower to get it to thicken up (again, like a chowder) so keep that in mind before you add the second cup of soy milk or extra water to cook the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This recipe is fantastic! My sister and her husband are vegans, I am not, and this is my favorite soup! I added 3 cubed potatoes from my garden, this is a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Fantastic! I added a small sweet potato just to make it a little heartier. I had to use ricemilk, due to allergies, and it still came out creamy. Have already made it twice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
We liked this overall, but my wife and I both thought there was too much pepper. Next time I make it, will try 1/2 tsp instead of 1 tsp. Also, after reading the ingredients of the vegetable bouillon cubes (sky high sodium and MSG to boot) I will probably substitute veg. broth for the water, and not use the cubes. The flour didn't have much of a thickening effect, so will try 2 tbsp. next time. I also used a stick blender to puree some of the soup for a creamier base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
It was awesome!! Made it as recipe stated. Love it will definitely make again. Thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TammyB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I've never had chowder before, and this was very yummy!! I only did half a small onion b/c I usually hate onions (for that matter I usually hate carrots, too, but I can usually handle both in soups). I used cow milk instead of soy since I cannot have soy due to my epilepsy. I put in only a half tsp. salt and a half tsp. pepper, and it was still too peppery for my liking. I also found the salt a little unnecessary simply b/c there is so much sodium in bouillon. But I would definitely make it again; I would just do even less salt & pepper. I did add a little extra flour to thicken it, as well as I just put a lid on it and let it simmer till thick, stirring occasionally, instead of stirring it constantly. I would've considered adding potatoes but I have a very limited diet and eat potatoes all the time so enjoyed this tater-free dish as a change! Thank-you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I added potatoes, an extra Tbls of flour and 1/2tsp of thyme. It was very good and filling. Everyone in the family liked it. 4 stars olny because I added other items. It was more like 4 1/2 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Loved it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States