Creamy Vegan Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
We liked this overall, but my wife and I both thought there was too much pepper. Next time I make it, will try 1/2 tsp instead of 1 tsp. Also, after reading the ingredients of the vegetable bouillon cubes (sky high sodium and MSG to boot) I will probably substitute veg. broth for the water, and not use the cubes. The flour didn't have much of a thickening effect, so will try 2 tbsp. next time. I also used a stick blender to puree some of the soup for a creamier base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
It was awesome!! Made it as recipe stated. Love it will definitely make again. Thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TammyB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I've never had chowder before, and this was very yummy!! I only did half a small onion b/c I usually hate onions (for that matter I usually hate carrots, too, but I can usually handle both in soups). I used cow milk instead of soy since I cannot have soy due to my epilepsy. I put in only a half tsp. salt and a half tsp. pepper, and it was still too peppery for my liking. I also found the salt a little unnecessary simply b/c there is so much sodium in bouillon. But I would definitely make it again; I would just do even less salt & pepper. I did add a little extra flour to thicken it, as well as I just put a lid on it and let it simmer till thick, stirring occasionally, instead of stirring it constantly. I would've considered adding potatoes but I have a very limited diet and eat potatoes all the time so enjoyed this tater-free dish as a change! Thank-you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I added potatoes, an extra Tbls of flour and 1/2tsp of thyme. It was very good and filling. Everyone in the family liked it. 4 stars olny because I added other items. It was more like 4 1/2 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Loved it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
It was pretty darned good. I also found I had to add more flour until the desired consistency was reached, but I accidentally added too much, so I put in 1.5 oz of bourbon to thin it back out--the perfect finisher. If you're not a hella vegan, try adding 1.5 oz of bacon-infused bourbon. Super nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: May 20, 2011
This was delicious! I'm always up for trying new things and this was perfect! Stirred the flour into a little water then poured into the soup just to be safe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Pretty good! It's a recipe you'll want to fiddle with to make to your tastes. I've added/substituted in various combinations: cayenne, paprika, chili flakes, dried chives, garlic chives, extra garlic, bell peppers, fresh spinach, celery salt, milk or evaporated milk and butter (not always vegan). Try finishing with Sriracha and cilantro. Try adding some prepared rice if you don't want it to be so corn-y. I made some homemade croutons with stale bread and those were AMAZING. As a half-time vegan, I LOVED substituting part of the soy milk for coconut milk. Hides that chalky flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Made quite a few modifications after reading the soup doesn't thicken so well and that there might not be enough corn. First, I used 2 cans of corn and 1 can of creamed corn. I only used 2 cups of water and 1 cup of unsweetened almond milk. I needed 2 T of flour in order to thicken in. Omitted the pepper and garlic powder (used a tad more real garlic instead). Was ok, but I'll look for a different recipe to try next time - definitely think potatoes would make a great addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenMV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Felton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This recipe is terrific! I have made this twice and it came out great both times. I prefer it with vegetable stock instead of the boullion. Also, make sure to use soy milk that does not contain vanilla unless you want sweet tasting chowder. A great addition (for extra flavor) to this was to add some finely chopped sauteed mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States