Creamy Vegan Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Loved this. I took the suggestions from some of the other reviewers and made a couple modifications. I added 1/2 red pepper, about 1 C mushrooms (both chopped), 2 more cups of corn, 2 more cups of water. I used vegetable base rather than bouillon (and more of it since I added more water) and used mashed potato flakes instead of flour. It wasn't SUPER thick like some chowders but it was thick enough for my taste. I served this to a chowder loving, non-vegan friend of mine and she loved it too! Very very good - and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I'm really liking the flavor. I did not make it vegan though (reg whole milk and chicken broth). I also followed other's advice and added bay leaves and sub'd potato flakes for the flour. I also added white wine after sauteeing the veggies. I know it's not really a fair assessment of the original recipe, but this was very good as I'm sure the original was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
yummy soup. used no-salt added veggie cubes. added 2 little red potatoes, with the carrots . at the very end I pureed about 2 cups of it and added it back. also...the baby dipped steamed broccoli in the pureed chowder and sucked it off...she loved it! we adults salted ours at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Delicious!!! Just perfect as is, or adding potatoes is great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
perfect just the way it is. served as entree with bread .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by granolagirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
It's a beautiful soup. I creamed a lot of the veggies in there after cooking (we think it improves the flavor). I added a fresh jalapeno and a potato. Doubled the garlic (don't you just hate people like me???? rating a recipe they changed....I get it....but....) I would make this again in a healthy heartbeat (don't you hate people like me who think they're funny? lol)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Loved the soup with an additional ingredient. I added roasted long green chiles diced up and it really kicked it up. We really enjoy this soup on a cold night. Very comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Mimi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
My husband loved this soup and it was pretty simple to make. Will definitely be making again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
The pepper burn in this chowder is so bad that my lips are still hurting from the last bite and my eyes have tears in the corners. If you don't want to have people running for the faucet, reduce the black pepper amount by at least half. Also, definitely add potatoes like others suggested because it needs the bulk to feel more like a chowder than just a creamy vegetable soup. Finally, I just want to mention that it took about twice as much flower to get it to thicken up (again, like a chowder) so keep that in mind before you add the second cup of soy milk or extra water to cook the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This recipe is fantastic! My sister and her husband are vegans, I am not, and this is my favorite soup! I added 3 cubed potatoes from my garden, this is a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States