Creamy Vegan Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Delicious.... but I did alter it. I added potatoes, and spinach in addition to the other ingredients. Substituted the soy milk for almond milk. Omitted the flour and used a can of coconut milk, and almonds blended for a cream base. Added turmeric, paprika and curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terina Heidelberg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kari Faith
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Really good! The flavor is really good, but the consistency isn't the best.... I'm gonna make it again with potatoes and blend it. For a better consistency:-) thank you:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by aris24
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This was DELISH with the following adjustments: -Used Almond Milk rather than Soy -Added Cayenne and Bay Leaves for seasoning -Used 3TBLS of flour -Added 2-3 diced red potatoes -Used fresh corn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aris24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
As pretty much everyone else commented, the base recipe is good, but by itself not my favorite. Chopping the veggies smaller might help, and for me, I added a pinch of thyme and blended half the soup as someone else recommended, as well as adding about double as much flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Oppito

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
This was a great recipe. I substituted the almond milk with canned coconut milk to make it creamier. Wasn't disappointed. Made it twice in the past month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
The chowder itself was good but 1 teaspoon of pepper was way too much. I would love to make this recipe again with just a pinch of pepper. It was too spicy for my kids to eat. I will also add potatoes next time as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This was super tasty! I used unsweetened almond milk instead of soy milk and I also added 2 tbsp butter to cut the pepper (there was a bit too much pepper for my liking). I also used 1 can kernel corn and 1 can of creamed corn instead of ears as it was what I had on hand. Next time I will add potatoes for more heartiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I used more than a tablespoon of corn starch to thicken. I think using potatoes will also thicken the soup. Instead of celery, I used frozen broccoli which I prefer. I kept the heat @ medium while thickening as it took too long in low heat and standing by the stove to constantly stir is hard on the legs! I added more salt to taste. I will take it to church potluck; curious if it will be a "winner."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
when i added the first cup of soymilk to the vegetables it curdled on the top and i thought it was ruined but i saved it by making a white sauce with the remaining cup of soymilk. then i mixed them together and it combined beautifully. I omitted the garlic powder and added potatos, as suggested in the reviews. it turned out really delicious with the slight recipe change. next time i will definitely make a separate white sauce and add it when the veges are cooked. awesome recipe. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I followed the recipe and it was a bit watery, not too creamy. So, I added a can of corn and added 4 small cooked potatoes. Then, I blended half the soup and added it back into the pot. It was good after the changes. I definitely recommend adding potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States