Creamy Vanilla Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Excellent!!! I bought a new White Mountain ice cream freezer and have tried many recipes on here and this one is the best. Freezes firm and keeps well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snyderes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
This was very rich and creamy! It was easy to make and froze up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I have fixed this twice now for my family and now have requests for more. It is outstanding right out of the ice cream maker, but also freezes great when fixing ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
This was very tasty and rich! The only thing I changed about the recipe was adding a real vanilla bean (split and scraped) to the mix instead of vanilla extract. This was my inaugural attempt at making homemade ice cream and went along a lot smoother than I had planned. The only caveat was that after freezing the batch overnight it set up pretty hard, not nice and "scoopable" like it was when I checked on it after about an hour or two in the freezer. After a bit of research it seems to be the nature of the beast... it's just best when it's fresher. (of course, I'll welcome any tips to the contrary!) I think next time I'll try this recipe one step down the milk ladder and try half & half and whole milk to make it a little less fatty, because sometimes the film heavy whipping cream leaves on the inside of my mouth feels icky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Merrick, New York, USA
Living In: Saint Francis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
this came out REALLY well! i made it for a family desert thing... everyone loved it :) -Nadine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nabadass

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This ice cream recipe is excellent! It has excellent flavour and texture. I've been using it as my base for other flavours as well (i.e. chocolate - adding 1 cup cocoa; strawberry - puree 1 quart of strawberries). This will be my go-to recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by woolei

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Awesome flavor! I have been using the Ben and Jerry's recipe but this is actually better. It comes out deliciously rich and creamy. It did get icy after about a week but this is often the case with homemade ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna Culp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Amazingly creamy and delicious. Made per instructions, just added an extra tsp of vanilla since we like our ice cream quite vanilla-y. The other ice cream recipes with eggs all seem to use a ludicrous number of yolks (8!?), so it's great to find a recipe with wonderful results that only uses two eggs and doesn't waste the whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Very enjoyable ice cream. I used Madagascar Vanilla beans though. Only needed one pod worth of beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Better than blue bunny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZSRT8

Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States