Creamy Vanilla Frozen Yogurt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I only made one change--I used one whole teaspoon of vanilla. No ice cream maker, I mixed this up in my blender. I just whirred it in my blender, froze it once, then scooped it out and blended it again, then refroze. This is SO good. All of it is gone, no leftovers. Next time I'll double it and maybe add a cup of fresh berries. The grtat thing about this dessert is it's cheaper than any prepackaged frozen yogurt you can buy pre-made and I was able to coupon greek yogurt for almost nothing--so this dessert cost so little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
My son loves this recipe. Poured into popsicle molds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
It was exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This recipe makes me want to go back and change every recipe I've ever given 5 stars to and make them all 4 stars. I've never tasted anything so incredible. The texture of this frozen yogurt is nothing short of remarkable. It's unbelievably creamy. I could keep gushing. I used fat-free Fage Greek yogurt, but the mouth feel of this frozen yogurt feels like I used nothing but heavy cream. It's just so creamy. Yum. I mixed the yogurt with the sugar and vanilla as directed and then just dumped it straight into the ice cream maker. I added some dark chocolate chips. It's 10:30pm, and I just came back to the freezer to eat some more. This stuff is better than ice cream. So, so good. I want to tell my husband about how awesome this is, but then I know he'll eat some, and I don't want to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Used the greek yogurt I had which was vanilla. Added Kefier, reduced the sugar since I used the vanilla yogurt, and added blueberries - it turned out wonderful! As others described - cream & flavorable. This was so easy to make and will be a regular in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Made this exactly like the recipe. Couldn't be easier - and absolutely delicious. Very rich - a little tangy. Reminds me of Red Mango. Will be fun to make again and do some add ins. The best recipe I tried yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Sometimes the simplest recipes are the best. This is the case for this recipe. I sometimes add extra vanilla, just because I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This is very similar to David Lebovitz's recipe from the cookbook Perfect Scoop. Except that he calls for 1 tsp. vanilla. I made this recently and could not stop eating it! It is SO good! If you like true frozen yogurt. It does get very hard in the freezer after awhile which doesn't bother me but just let it sit out for a little to soften up if you prefer it that way. You can also add pureed fruit to the mixture before freezing to make flavored yogurt. I plan to try using low-fat yogurt next time. ***UPDATE: made this with 2% yogurt and half sugar half sun crystals (Stevia and cane sugar) and was disappointed. It froze really quickly in my ice cream maker then got rock hard in the freezer. Won't be making the lighter version again anytime soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAHMCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This is a delicious recipe, although I suggest adding another half teaspoon vanilla extract. After I mixed the ingredients, I poured the mixture in my Kitchen Aid ice cream attachment. I left the yogurt in the bowl and put it in the freezer overnight. It was rock hard in the morning. But then I put the bowl in the refrigerator for the day and by the evening it had the most wonderful soft texture like the frozen yogurt you get out of the machines. And it was yummy too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Added frozen blueberries, and as someone suggested, a bit of alcohol before freezing. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Frozen Margarita Pie

A refreshing dessert catered to adults taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States