Creamy Vanilla Frozen Yogurt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I have the benefit of living currently in Greece where "fresh greek yogurt" is available in endless varieties: full fat, 2%, non-fat, skinless, with skin, flavored or not ... you name it! Please do not strain your yogurt; you lose all the prebiotic cultures that are soo good for your health! To overcome the "rock-solid" effect the day after you freeze your desert try either of the two: 1. disolve 1 tsp unflavored gelatin in 1 tbsp water and 1 tbsp lemon juice, and stir in before you freeze, or 2. (provided you don't serve it to kids) stir in your mix a good shot of vodka or favorite "sweet liquor" like peach schnapps, kalhua (coffee) or baileys. The alcohol keeps it from freezing to a rock. Great - simple recipe! Will keep churning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This is very similar to David Lebovitz's recipe from the cookbook Perfect Scoop. Except that he calls for 1 tsp. vanilla. I made this recently and could not stop eating it! It is SO good! If you like true frozen yogurt. It does get very hard in the freezer after awhile which doesn't bother me but just let it sit out for a little to soften up if you prefer it that way. You can also add pureed fruit to the mixture before freezing to make flavored yogurt. I plan to try using low-fat yogurt next time. ***UPDATE: made this with 2% yogurt and half sugar half sun crystals (Stevia and cane sugar) and was disappointed. It froze really quickly in my ice cream maker then got rock hard in the freezer. Won't be making the lighter version again anytime soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAHMCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
it's delicious and it works with some adjustments. Make sure you STRAIN the yogurt ( place a mesh strainer on top of a bowl, put some nylon or cheese cloth on it, pour the yogurt on top of the cloth, fold the ends to cover and refrigerate for no less than 6 hours or overnight).... i used fage yogurt and even though it says strained-yogurt i still went ahead and strained it again. i don't have an ice cream machine yet, so i used the freezing directions from the recipe "peach frozen yogurt" from Stephanie Norr
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I only made one change--I used one whole teaspoon of vanilla. No ice cream maker, I mixed this up in my blender. I just whirred it in my blender, froze it once, then scooped it out and blended it again, then refroze. This is SO good. All of it is gone, no leftovers. Next time I'll double it and maybe add a cup of fresh berries. The grtat thing about this dessert is it's cheaper than any prepackaged frozen yogurt you can buy pre-made and I was able to coupon greek yogurt for almost nothing--so this dessert cost so little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This recipe makes me want to go back and change every recipe I've ever given 5 stars to and make them all 4 stars. I've never tasted anything so incredible. The texture of this frozen yogurt is nothing short of remarkable. It's unbelievably creamy. I could keep gushing. I used fat-free Fage Greek yogurt, but the mouth feel of this frozen yogurt feels like I used nothing but heavy cream. It's just so creamy. Yum. I mixed the yogurt with the sugar and vanilla as directed and then just dumped it straight into the ice cream maker. I added some dark chocolate chips. It's 10:30pm, and I just came back to the freezer to eat some more. This stuff is better than ice cream. So, so good. I want to tell my husband about how awesome this is, but then I know he'll eat some, and I don't want to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I made as directed and then thought to myself why not use "vanilla" yogurt instead of making plain yogurt vanilla. This was ok and good at the soft-serve consistency and has a very strong yogurt flavor (which is ok, it is yogurt put through an ice cream maker). This however turns into a block of hard frozen solid yogurt when allowed to ripen in the freezer so it is best used immediatley. If frozen solid you can leave out to soften but then why do you use an icecream machine. You get the same result if you put some yogurt in a bowl/container and place it in the freezer bringing out to stir a few times before it freezes solid and serving before that frozen solid state.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Sometimes the simplest recipes are the best. This is the case for this recipe. I sometimes add extra vanilla, just because I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Added frozen blueberries, and as someone suggested, a bit of alcohol before freezing. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This is a delicious recipe, although I suggest adding another half teaspoon vanilla extract. After I mixed the ingredients, I poured the mixture in my Kitchen Aid ice cream attachment. I left the yogurt in the bowl and put it in the freezer overnight. It was rock hard in the morning. But then I put the bowl in the refrigerator for the day and by the evening it had the most wonderful soft texture like the frozen yogurt you get out of the machines. And it was yummy too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
"Exceptional!" says my husband. Usually, he says "Interesting." So I decided to write my first AllRecipes review. Such a simple recipe. The first time I tried it exactly as written, but for my tastebuds there was a bit too much 'yogurt' taste. So then I followed the advice of another reviewer and added one shot of Baileys and some mini chocolate chips. This improved the flavor (and hard freezing issues), but I still wanted to mask the yogurt a bit more. Eureka! I mixed together 3 cups unstrained greek yogurt with 3/4 cups white sugar and one Tbsp vanilla extract, 3 Tbsp Baileys & 2 Tbsp Kahlua and poured the mix into ice cream machine. Followed normal machine instructions. Then, when it's ready, remove & stir in 1/2 cup of mini chocolate chips, by hand. Voila! Something 'Exceptional'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Frozen Margarita Pie

A refreshing dessert catered to adults taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States