Creamy Vanilla Frozen Yogurt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Made this exactly like the recipe. Couldn't be easier - and absolutely delicious. Very rich - a little tangy. Reminds me of Red Mango. Will be fun to make again and do some add ins. The best recipe I tried yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Used the greek yogurt I had which was vanilla. Added Kefier, reduced the sugar since I used the vanilla yogurt, and added blueberries - it turned out wonderful! As others described - cream & flavorable. This was so easy to make and will be a regular in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
It was exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This recipe makes me want to go back and change every recipe I've ever given 5 stars to and make them all 4 stars. I've never tasted anything so incredible. The texture of this frozen yogurt is nothing short of remarkable. It's unbelievably creamy. I could keep gushing. I used fat-free Fage Greek yogurt, but the mouth feel of this frozen yogurt feels like I used nothing but heavy cream. It's just so creamy. Yum. I mixed the yogurt with the sugar and vanilla as directed and then just dumped it straight into the ice cream maker. I added some dark chocolate chips. It's 10:30pm, and I just came back to the freezer to eat some more. This stuff is better than ice cream. So, so good. I want to tell my husband about how awesome this is, but then I know he'll eat some, and I don't want to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Added frozen blueberries, and as someone suggested, a bit of alcohol before freezing. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
My son loves this recipe. Poured into popsicle molds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I have the benefit of living currently in Greece where "fresh greek yogurt" is available in endless varieties: full fat, 2%, non-fat, skinless, with skin, flavored or not ... you name it! Please do not strain your yogurt; you lose all the prebiotic cultures that are soo good for your health! To overcome the "rock-solid" effect the day after you freeze your desert try either of the two: 1. disolve 1 tsp unflavored gelatin in 1 tbsp water and 1 tbsp lemon juice, and stir in before you freeze, or 2. (provided you don't serve it to kids) stir in your mix a good shot of vodka or favorite "sweet liquor" like peach schnapps, kalhua (coffee) or baileys. The alcohol keeps it from freezing to a rock. Great - simple recipe! Will keep churning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I only made one change--I used one whole teaspoon of vanilla. No ice cream maker, I mixed this up in my blender. I just whirred it in my blender, froze it once, then scooped it out and blended it again, then refroze. This is SO good. All of it is gone, no leftovers. Next time I'll double it and maybe add a cup of fresh berries. The grtat thing about this dessert is it's cheaper than any prepackaged frozen yogurt you can buy pre-made and I was able to coupon greek yogurt for almost nothing--so this dessert cost so little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This is hubbys 4 stars, I would give it a 3. I think he liked more than the rest of us...used vanilla bean Greek yogurt....I dunno....it tasted ok to me...wont have anymore though...very tart and tangy as if lemon juice was added (and it wasnt). Although appearance and consistancy was spot on. I was looking forward to it but not what I expected. Used our new ice cream attachment for the kitchen aid for the first time and that worked amazing. As long as hubby liked it....he made it...lol....thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
great recipe, I mixed in crushed pineapple before putting it in the freezer. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States