Creamy Twice-Baked Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I have made twice bake for years but usually with sour cream. This was my first cream cheese recipe. First don't use foil in baking. the skins are not crisp. I use a garlic oil that I rub on outside of potatoes before I begin. Skins are then crisp but not over dried and taste yummy. I added pepper, bacon and shreddred cheese (wished I had some green onion but wasn't one in the house.) I left out the paprika because of cheese topping and milk because I was refrigerating overnight and then heating. The extra milk was not necessary after condensation. I also top with a bit more shredded cheddar cheese for taste and appearance. Everyone loved the change to cream cheese. In reheating a bit slower from refrigerator, I had a low 325 temp and then raised it up to 375 for last 10 minutes. Did 30 minutes then 10 to melt cheese. Also with a big dinner group I use one potatoe per every 2 people. I split them in half. A whole potatoe is just too much with a huge meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
i made this recipe for my restaurant. what a hit!!! i did add the cheddar cheese and onion. i made these 5 hrs ahead and then refrigerated them. i brought them to room tempt.(about 15 mins.) i baked them on 250 for 10 min, then 300 for 10 mins., then 350 for 10 mins and golden brown. they warm all the way through nicely. very tasty! thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Twice baked potatoes are something that I've always loved and find to be really helpful to me when cooking on the run. I prepared this recipe on the weekend, tripling it, so that I could freeze 2/3 of my potatoes to use along side other throw together dinners. For additional flavor, I use chive and onion cream cheese. Update (2 days after cooking)Let the record state these taste great microwaved as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
As if the cream cheese and sour cream weren't enough, I added cheddar to the mix, along with more seasonings and green onion. Just had to use up the rest of that cheese, so, during the last ten minutes of baking, I topped the taters off with some more. Soooooooo good. Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2008
My partner and I absolutely loved these! I used low fat cream cheese,fat free sour cream and topped them off with some fake bacon bits. I had pretty big potatoes, so I used a little more sour cream and milk than called for. Usually I put cheese on my twice baked potatoes, but these were so delicious, the extra flavor was unnecessary! LATER DATE: I made them again by microwaving them for 18 minutes and then scooping out to make the mix. When I put the mix back in, I baked them for 15 minutes at 375 to heat through. They were still very delicious, but the skin wasn't as crisp. Easier to scoop the insides, though. UPDATE: In an attempt to save time, I tried these with a food processor. I just threw it all in there and let 'er rip for a few minutes. Most of you more experienced cooks probably already know this, but for the newbies out there, DON'T DO IT! They were just gross, like a glue consistency. Luckily, my partner will eat anything! Made the usual way, though, still the best potatoes I've ever had after my mom's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallard S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neponset, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Oh my stars....I thought these were great! Everyone loved them. I certainly didn't follow the recipe when it came to salt and pepper - I added these to suit our tastes. I made six large potatoes. I like these better than traditional twice-baked! I didn't add chives, or scallions, or bacon, or cheese, etc. - I felt they were just great as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BroncosFan
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
This was the first time I've ever made twice baked potatoes and I know I picked the right recipe! YUM! YUM! YUM! I did add the cheddar cheese and chives--normally I prefer to make a recipe as is the first time out and experiment later, but these are classic potato additions. You won't regret adding them! ...Update: Having made these a few times, I now save a step by just placing the mashed mixture into a casserole dish and baking that way. Sure, not quaint in appearance, but for busy cook's it's a tip worth using without losing the awesome taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
These are OUTSTANDING!!! Definetly the best twice-baked potatoes I've ever had, my husband loved them as well. I did add green onions and cheddar cheese just for personal preference but I'm surethey are just as delish w/o. Very creamy and rich...can't wait to make them for friends and family, definetly recommend these!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Romeoville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
REALLY good! Fairly simple, but delicious. I didn't do anything differently, except I had three medium-ish potatoes but I didn't really increase the measurements of the other ingredients, and it came out wonderful! I could eat a big vat of the filling all by itself! I'm not sure the paprika added anything to it, but it added some colour. I did cheat and did the first 'bake' in the microwave as I didn't have an extra hour to do them in the oven, and I did all the 'beating' in of ingredients just with a potato masher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I made these for a bbq a couple months ago and since then, everyone has been asking for them for every bbq. its summertime and i've been avoiding the oven but i baked them the night before, fridged them as is and then cut and stuffed them the next day. They were still fantastic and my cousin-in-law ate 7!!! I sub shredded cheese for paprika and i also toss a layer of the cheese in the empty shell before i stuff it for a cheesy surprise. Keep it simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States