Creamy Twice-Baked Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I have made twice bake for years but usually with sour cream. This was my first cream cheese recipe. First don't use foil in baking. the skins are not crisp. I use a garlic oil that I rub on outside of potatoes before I begin. Skins are then crisp but not over dried and taste yummy. I added pepper, bacon and shreddred cheese (wished I had some green onion but wasn't one in the house.) I left out the paprika because of cheese topping and milk because I was refrigerating overnight and then heating. The extra milk was not necessary after condensation. I also top with a bit more shredded cheddar cheese for taste and appearance. Everyone loved the change to cream cheese. In reheating a bit slower from refrigerator, I had a low 325 temp and then raised it up to 375 for last 10 minutes. Did 30 minutes then 10 to melt cheese. Also with a big dinner group I use one potatoe per every 2 people. I split them in half. A whole potatoe is just too much with a huge meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
i made this recipe for my restaurant. what a hit!!! i did add the cheddar cheese and onion. i made these 5 hrs ahead and then refrigerated them. i brought them to room tempt.(about 15 mins.) i baked them on 250 for 10 min, then 300 for 10 mins., then 350 for 10 mins and golden brown. they warm all the way through nicely. very tasty! thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Twice baked potatoes are something that I've always loved and find to be really helpful to me when cooking on the run. I prepared this recipe on the weekend, tripling it, so that I could freeze 2/3 of my potatoes to use along side other throw together dinners. For additional flavor, I use chive and onion cream cheese. Update (2 days after cooking)Let the record state these taste great microwaved as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
As if the cream cheese and sour cream weren't enough, I added cheddar to the mix, along with more seasonings and green onion. Just had to use up the rest of that cheese, so, during the last ten minutes of baking, I topped the taters off with some more. Soooooooo good. Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2008
My partner and I absolutely loved these! I used low fat cream cheese,fat free sour cream and topped them off with some fake bacon bits. I had pretty big potatoes, so I used a little more sour cream and milk than called for. Usually I put cheese on my twice baked potatoes, but these were so delicious, the extra flavor was unnecessary! LATER DATE: I made them again by microwaving them for 18 minutes and then scooping out to make the mix. When I put the mix back in, I baked them for 15 minutes at 375 to heat through. They were still very delicious, but the skin wasn't as crisp. Easier to scoop the insides, though. UPDATE: In an attempt to save time, I tried these with a food processor. I just threw it all in there and let 'er rip for a few minutes. Most of you more experienced cooks probably already know this, but for the newbies out there, DON'T DO IT! They were just gross, like a glue consistency. Luckily, my partner will eat anything! Made the usual way, though, still the best potatoes I've ever had after my mom's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallard S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neponset, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Oh my stars....I thought these were great! Everyone loved them. I certainly didn't follow the recipe when it came to salt and pepper - I added these to suit our tastes. I made six large potatoes. I like these better than traditional twice-baked! I didn't add chives, or scallions, or bacon, or cheese, etc. - I felt they were just great as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BroncosFan
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
This was the first time I've ever made twice baked potatoes and I know I picked the right recipe! YUM! YUM! YUM! I did add the cheddar cheese and chives--normally I prefer to make a recipe as is the first time out and experiment later, but these are classic potato additions. You won't regret adding them! ...Update: Having made these a few times, I now save a step by just placing the mashed mixture into a casserole dish and baking that way. Sure, not quaint in appearance, but for busy cook's it's a tip worth using without losing the awesome taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
These are OUTSTANDING!!! Definetly the best twice-baked potatoes I've ever had, my husband loved them as well. I did add green onions and cheddar cheese just for personal preference but I'm surethey are just as delish w/o. Very creamy and rich...can't wait to make them for friends and family, definetly recommend these!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Romeoville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
REALLY good! Fairly simple, but delicious. I didn't do anything differently, except I had three medium-ish potatoes but I didn't really increase the measurements of the other ingredients, and it came out wonderful! I could eat a big vat of the filling all by itself! I'm not sure the paprika added anything to it, but it added some colour. I did cheat and did the first 'bake' in the microwave as I didn't have an extra hour to do them in the oven, and I did all the 'beating' in of ingredients just with a potato masher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I made these for a bbq a couple months ago and since then, everyone has been asking for them for every bbq. its summertime and i've been avoiding the oven but i baked them the night before, fridged them as is and then cut and stuffed them the next day. They were still fantastic and my cousin-in-law ate 7!!! I sub shredded cheese for paprika and i also toss a layer of the cheese in the empty shell before i stuff it for a cheesy surprise. Keep it simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States