Creamy Turnip With Paprika Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
This was a tasty soup. I changed the directions by cooking the turnip and onions, let cool, and then pureeing with the half and half. I tasted the results prior to all the seasonings. I would like to state that I liked the soup plain. I continued with seasoning the soup and it didn't taste as good. Served with "Pollo Mediteranean," "Roasted Vegetable Medley," and "Steamed Radishes."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I did use cream instead of milk. This was very tasty good soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: Wilton, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
A great soup if you like the taste of turnips. A lot of work but a delicious soup in the end. Much better if you use half and half rather than milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedApple

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Great flavor! This is a nice, comforting soup that would be perfect on a chilly fall day. The paprika and cayenne give it a subtle heat, and the texture is wonderful. I subbed coconut milk for cream, and used veg broth--otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. The crispy shallots really add to it, but it's still delicious without. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This was a great success! I made this with 1 lb. of turnips and 1 lb. of carrots because I needed to use up some things. I did not make the shallots and it was still wonderful, I served it with french bread which soaked up the soup nicely. This was an easy recipe, I didn't even have to shop for ingredients, and so much fun to make. I prepared the ingredients for the later steps while it sauteed. Can't wait to make it again and experiment with other veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milledgeville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Louisville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Wow! Great recipe. I had to alter the time it took to reach each step. This recipe is for those who can be patient with the results of each step. Great flavor, love it! I am amazed and inspired by the richness and complex flavors with such a low fat content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
as huge a lover as i am of turnips, this was actually my first time attempting turnip soup, and i wasn't disappointed. this was really delicious. i've made it twice, both times not needing to use the full amount of milk suggested, and also adding some fresh cream. i think the 2nd time i made it turned out better, the onions and turnip caramelised better and the consistency was perfect. the crisped shallots really do add to the flavour. i served it with warm dark brown crusty baguette and herb butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilkenny, County Kilkenny, Ireland
Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I didn't like this soup. I guess I don't like how turnips taste. I didn't have enough turnips so I made the soup with equal amounts of turnips and potatoes - and I still felt it had a very strong taste. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Delicious! I used about half turnips and half yukon gold potatoes cause that's what I had. And I used 1 cup half/half and 1/2 cup skim milk. MMMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I've tried many recipes from this site and none have ever tasted this bad. (And I like turnips)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Munich, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States