Creamy Turnip With Paprika Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
We love this recipe! We use about 1 lb turnips and 0.5 lbs potatoes. The shallot crisps are key to the flavor, but we also like to make croutons from baguettes and put a few in each bowl. We top the croutons w/ a mixture of gruyere cheese and mustard and they really compliment the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
If you like turnips I think this recipe is for you. While I don't care for them, I am trying to be fair to the recipe.b I had a garden with too many turnips in it and needed to get rid of some, so I chose this recipe. I used 1/2 whole milk and 1/2 skim instead of 1/2 and 1/2, and I still think it turned out a little too thick, so I added some more milk. At that point, for all you turnip lovers, it was probably about 4 stars. However, I don't like turnips so I added some instant mashed potato flakes, milk and more sugar, and it was much better for me. I guess, I wouldn't try this unless you absolutely love turnips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
Yummy!! I didn't have quite enough turnips, so I added some celery to make up the volume. We ended up having this on a very hot day, so after tasting it hot and loving it, we decided to try it cold, and it was great that way too. I’m not sure which I liked better. This recipe is going into the file of foods I make every few months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBOMB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
Excellent - I was a bit dubious at first but the smell and taste are heavenly! Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2005
A hearty delight! A nice complement of spice and texture. (We used 1/4 tsp of cayenne).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
A great way to use turnips. The carmalizing process is very important for the overall taste. My whole family, including, my infant son, enjoyed this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souper-Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
This was delicious, even the kids liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
Really good. I used frozen diced turnip and it was fine. I also halved the oil, subbed becel for butter, 1% for cream, and garnished with pumpkin seeds (reducing unnecessary fat but maintaining the crunch, as well as adding good fat and extra nutrients.) Probably could add other vegs as well. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I tried this soup because my husband brought home a bag of turnips and I had no idea what to do with them. The first batch I made I followed the recipe exactly, except used a little less cayenne and substituted skim milk. My husband and I loved the taste of the soup but were not thrilled with the lack of texture. The next batch I made as before but left all the veggies unblended. I added the leftover pureed soup from the first batch and the result was a yummy, chunky. turnip stew. I was hooked, now! Had to go buy turnips for batch three - I increased the recipe by 1/3 so that I would have some to puree and add back to the pot. Added skim milk to the puree only, but next time I will add liquid from the pot instead so that my soup/stew will be thicker. Will definitely need salt and pepper! SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
This is a wonderful soup with really great flavor. I did add some potatoes and basil, but I have been eating it every single day since I made it and I am still not tired of it. Great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States