Creamy Turnip With Paprika Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
This was a tasty soup. I changed the directions by cooking the turnip and onions, let cool, and then pureeing with the half and half. I tasted the results prior to all the seasonings. I would like to state that I liked the soup plain. I continued with seasoning the soup and it didn't taste as good. Served with "Pollo Mediteranean," "Roasted Vegetable Medley," and "Steamed Radishes."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I did use cream instead of milk. This was very tasty good soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: Wilton, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
A great soup if you like the taste of turnips. A lot of work but a delicious soup in the end. Much better if you use half and half rather than milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedApple

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Great flavor! This is a nice, comforting soup that would be perfect on a chilly fall day. The paprika and cayenne give it a subtle heat, and the texture is wonderful. I subbed coconut milk for cream, and used veg broth--otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. The crispy shallots really add to it, but it's still delicious without. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This was a great success! I made this with 1 lb. of turnips and 1 lb. of carrots because I needed to use up some things. I did not make the shallots and it was still wonderful, I served it with french bread which soaked up the soup nicely. This was an easy recipe, I didn't even have to shop for ingredients, and so much fun to make. I prepared the ingredients for the later steps while it sauteed. Can't wait to make it again and experiment with other veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milledgeville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Louisville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Wow! Great recipe. I had to alter the time it took to reach each step. This recipe is for those who can be patient with the results of each step. Great flavor, love it! I am amazed and inspired by the richness and complex flavors with such a low fat content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
as huge a lover as i am of turnips, this was actually my first time attempting turnip soup, and i wasn't disappointed. this was really delicious. i've made it twice, both times not needing to use the full amount of milk suggested, and also adding some fresh cream. i think the 2nd time i made it turned out better, the onions and turnip caramelised better and the consistency was perfect. the crisped shallots really do add to the flavour. i served it with warm dark brown crusty baguette and herb butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilkenny, County Kilkenny, Ireland
Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I didn't like this soup. I guess I don't like how turnips taste. I didn't have enough turnips so I made the soup with equal amounts of turnips and potatoes - and I still felt it had a very strong taste. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Delicious! I used about half turnips and half yukon gold potatoes cause that's what I had. And I used 1 cup half/half and 1/2 cup skim milk. MMMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I've tried many recipes from this site and none have ever tasted this bad. (And I like turnips)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Munich, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States