Creamy Tortellini Carbonara Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
Family loved this dish but as others have mentioned the recipe is a mixture of metric and imperial. You will need 1 lb of tortellini, 4 oz of herb and garlic cream cheese (they say 1/2 (250 gr which is 8 oz) cream cheese this equal 4 oz.), and 6 oz of ham. Recipe is easy to come together. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I made this for my twelve little taste tester in daycare. I threw my peas in last minuet with the noodles and then put my 8 oz of plain cream cheese in while the noodles and peas where still hot after I drained them then. I added the milk and Parmesan cheese in with noodles and cream cheese and peas. I put in 1/2 tsp Italian seasoning and 1/2 tsp garlic salt as didn't have the flavored cream cheese. I used bacon crumbles instead of ham to get that smoky flavor. The daycare kids gave it a huge thumbs up. This one is a keeper. Super easy to make. This one will definitely make the rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I followed recipe exactly. The kids loved it but hubby and I thought it lacked flavor and was too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I really liked it. I had to adjust things due to what I had on hand....no garlic/herb cream cheese but I used plain and seasoned it- and I didn't have ham and substituted shrimp instead. It was quick and easy and totally unhealthy since I used skim milk and fat free cream cheese. Def needed salt n pepper though- I'm sure had I used ham it would have made a difference there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
YUM!!! I too used the Philadelphia COOKING cream cheese in Italian Cheese & Herb instead of the one suggested in the original recipe. I used the whole tub of the cooking cream cheese & added 1 cup of peas instead of 2. So simple & yummy. I served w/a side of bread. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Good, but quite heavy. Serve light, healthy sides to balance it out. I wouldn't do bread with it, like I did tonight. Too heavy. veggies, fruit, or light salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Olsen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Dear Hubby made this and while we were thoroughly pleased (ME especially since I got a day off from cooking) The only thing I'd change about this recipe is the amount of peas.. 2 cups is an overwhelming amount for the amount of pasta.. otherwise... great dish.. would recommend/make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austell, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Photo by Erin
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
i made this using stuff i had hanging out in the fridge. i prefer to use fettucini (not to big on tortellini), it was delicious, but just a little to creamy for me .. but that was easily fixed by adding some pasta water. salt is definitely needed. it was quick & easy, i would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin
Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Pretty good! I did however, use the new Philly Cooking Creme (Italian Cheese and Herb), because I couldn't find the herb & garlic cc. Also subbed crumbled bacon for ham and halved the peas. I used a 20oz package of tortellini and it was the perfect amount of sauce. There are a lot of possibilities with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Half the garlic and herb cream cheese recipie from this sit works well with this, just cut back on the garlic as one clove is a little overwhelming
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsBecky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Tortellini Bacon Broccoli Salad

This creamy pasta salad is the perfect side for picnics, potlucks, and BBQs.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States