Creamy Tomato Tuna Penne Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Liking both tomato soup & toasted tuna sandwiches I had high expectations for this dish but was sadly somewhat let down. Maybe my expectations were unrealistic but this dish just didn't measure up as an alternative to the real thing. It isn't that the dish is bad -- far from it -- but that it just doesn't resonate with myself or my family like I had thought. My two girls thought that it had too much tarragon in it and that that flavor came to dominate the dish. This dish was good enough that I plan on making it again for another try but will cut the tarragon in half. Hopefully we'll like it better and, if so, I'll update my review accordingly. As a final thought, though, my recommendation is to stick with the soup and sandwiches for that flavor combination instead of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I am making this for the third time-my husband and I love it, and it's quick, easy and not expensive. Thanks to Chef John I always have Pacific brand organic creamy tomato soup, low sodium version, anchovy fillets, and good quality oil packed tuna on hand so this is almost an "instant" dinner. Throw some frozen peas in with the pasta during the last 5 minutes of cooking for an extra veggie boost. You can also sub wine for the water. Tonight I'm serving it over Barilla brand spinach and cheese tortellini, since I'm out of penne. Thanks again to Chef John for clueing me in to the dry tortellini, they are delicious and handy to have around. I'll be making this with gluten-free pasta when my celiac houseguest arrives in a couple weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I used tomato sauce instead of the soup and did few other minor changes. Very good! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yevgeniya Zhenya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This is by far my favorite pasta recipe. The boyfriend has been requesting it 3 weekends in a row! I used 2/3 Campbell Tomato soup, and 1/3 Campbell's Orange Harvest Tomato soup, and it came out a bit sweeter than if I had gone full Tomato soup. I definitely preferred the result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I did substitude the cream of tomato since I didn't have any at home. I made the sauce with two cups of water, tomato paste and added coconut milk since I'm lactose intolerant. The sauce turned out to be a little runny for my taste, but that was probably my fault. I also added chard to the sauce to make it a little healthier. I liked the state, and it was very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Just tried this for the first time and eating it as I write this. I'm not that good of a cook but this is fairly simple and it turned out great. This is a keeper and I plan to make this one more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Very, very good recipe. Made it according to the directions except for the fact that I could only find tuna in olive oil in 4.5 oz. cans, so I used two. Also, I can't stand not to use all of something, so I used 16 oz. of pasta and entire 32 oz. carton of cream of tomato soup. Everything else according to the original recipe. So good I'm making it again tomorrow!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taylor, Texas, USA
Living In: Manchaca, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Fantastic recipe! The best part is how quick and easy it is to make but still upholds a gourmet meal flavor and quality. Stick with the recipe. I followed the recommendations of the video by using tuna with jalapeno in olive oil out of the jar. It's worth the money (about $8 and can be found in any grocery store), as well as cream of tomato soup out of the box, not the can! I buy the organic kind, tastes much better than canned IMO. The only thing I changed is I leave out the anchovie paste only because I don't have it. Otherwise, it's perfect as is and delicious! Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I had some real trouble finding the amounts in the recipe at the store, so I fudged a few things. 2 cans of tuna in olive oil came out to 9oz and the 2 cans of tomato bisque came out to 28oz and the penne was 12oz. With the extra tuna I halved the anchovy paste. In all both my DH and I loved the recipe. I also threw in a can of sweet corn and used the "veggie" penne to add some more veggie servings. Can't wait to make this for company. So quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prettysoldier

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA
Living In: Fort Belvoir, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Great recipe. Substituted 1/2 cup water with one 14oz can undrained diced tomatoes and added basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Creamy Salmon and Leek Pasta

See how to make a simple springtime pasta with salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States